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ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 5, 2010, by the
Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against SEM
HOSPITALITY, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-2731 (Licensee).

The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of
the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 884-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16)]. The charge is that on October 1,
2010, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold alcoholic beverages after the Restaurant
Liquor license expired on September 30, 2010, and had not been renewed and/or validated.

An evidentiary hearing was conducted on June 22, 2011 in the Scranton State Office
Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.

No one appeared on behalf of Licensee. I placed a telephone call to Mr. M., Licensee’s
President. Mr. M. indicated that Licensee was not disputing that alcoholic beverages were sold
on October 1, 2010 as charged (N.T. 6).
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Mr. M. claimed that Licensee received authority to operate that day. | allowed Mr. M. to
provide proof of that authority by no later than July 13, 2010 (N.T. 9-10). Having received no
information, I must assume Licensee’s defense cannot be established.

As Mr. M. did not dispute that Licensee was selling alcoholic beverages on the date
charged, | proceeded with the hearing ex parte.

After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law are entered.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on October 1, 2010 and completed it on
October 15, 2010 (N.T. 11).

2. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed premises
by certified mail, return receipt requested on October 20, 2010. The notice alleged violations as
charged in the citation (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 11).

3. On the date charged, a Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the premises at 6:35
p.m. Licensee was open and in operation selling alcoholic beverages although the license
expired on September 30, 2010 (N.T. 12-13).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] have been
satisfied.

2. The citation is sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since July 16, 2004, and has had four prior violations
(Commonwealth Exhibit C-4):

Adjudication No. 06-1543. Fine $1,250.00 and RAMP training
mandated.
Sales to a minor. May 18, 2006.

Adjudication No. 06-2616. Fine $1,250.00.
Sold alcoholic beverages after its Restaurant Liquor license
expired on September 30, 2006 and had not been renewed
and/or validated. October 7, 2006.
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Adjudication No. 07-0308. Fine $200.00 and RAMP training
mandated.
Failed to comply with the Order of the Administrative Law
Judge mandating RAMP training. December 21, 2006
through January 19, 2007.

Adjudication No. 10-0081X. Fine $150.00.

Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed
beverages. November 24, 2009.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.

Mr. M’s protestations regarding his belief that Licensee was authorized to operate, sound
a bit hollow because of Adjudication No. 06-2616 in which the same charge was sustained.
Licensee should have learned to be more careful. Accordingly I impose a $1,500.00 fine.
ORDER
THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee SEM HOSPITALITY, INC., pay a fine
of $1,500.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be
suspended or revoked.

Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this _3R° __ day of August, 2011.

Felix Thau, A.L.J.

an
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MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY
ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER,
ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE
MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER. PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE
AT 717-783-9454.

Detach here and submit stub with payment
The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order. Personal
and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Make guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Citation No. 10-2374
SEM Hospitality, Inc.



