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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 5, 2010, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against 

SLOPESIDE, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-20697 (Licensee). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16).  The charge is that on October 1, 

2010, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold alcoholic beverages after its Restaurant 

Liquor license expired on September 30, 2010, and had not been renewed and/or validated. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was conducted on June 22, 2011 in the Scranton State Office 

Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

 

 After review of the transcript of that proceeding, the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law are entered. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. The Bureau began its investigation on October 1, 2010 and completed it on 

October 15, 2010 (N.T. 12). 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed premises 

by certified mail, return receipt requested on October 20, 2010.  The notice alleged violations as 

charged in the citation (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 10). 

 

 3. On October 1, 2010 at 7:55 p.m., an undercover Bureau Enforcement Officer 

determined that Licensee was open and in operation selling alcoholic beverages at a time when 

the license had not been renewed.  The license expired on September 30, 2010 (N.T. 12-16). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

  1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The citation is sustained as charged. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since September 7, 2004, and has had no prior violations.   

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Ms. T. explains that she assumed the license had been renewed as her attorney was 

handling the paperwork.  She further advised that she was confused between the food serving 

license and the liquor license.  By making these assumptions, Licensee failed to ask the 

appropriate questions.  I am convinced Licensee has been chastened by this experience and will 

be more careful the next renewal/validation cycle. 

 

 As this is Licensee’s first violation and Licensee was further unclear as to the renewal 

process, I impose a one day suspension. 
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ORDER 

 

 IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the restaurant liquor license (including all permits) 

of SLOPESIDE, INC., License No. R-AP-SS-20697 be suspended for a period of one day 

BEGINNING at 7:00 a.m. on Tuesday, November 1, 2011 and ENDING at 7:00 a.m. 

on Wednesday, November 2, 2011. 

 

 Licensee is directed on November 1, 2011 at 7:00 a.m. to place the enclosed placard of 

notice of suspension (identified as Form No. PLCB-1925 and as printed with red and black ink) 

in a conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed premises or in a window plainly visible 

from outside the licensed premises and to remove said license from the wall and place it in a 

secure location. 

 

 Licensee is advised if replacement placards are needed for any reason they are available 

at all Pennsylvania Liquor Stores/Wine & Spirits Shoppes. 

 

 The Bureau is directed to visit and monitor the aforementioned licensed premises for 

compliance with this Order. 

 

 Licensee is authorized on November 2, 2011 at 7:00 a.m. to remove the placard of 

suspension and return his license to its original wall location. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    8TH      day of August, 2011. 

 

        

       

   
 Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  


