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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on December 17, 2010, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against ANNA MARIE DAVIS, License Number R-AP-1345 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 15.62(a) of the Liquor Control 

Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §15.62(a)] in that on November 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, 2010, 

Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, failed to post in a conspicuous place on the outside 

of the licensed premises, or in a window plainly visible from the outside of the premises, a 

Notice of Suspension. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on September 7, 2010 and was 

completed on November 6, 2010; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on November 16, 2010.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on April 14, 2011 in the Scranton State 

Office Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. On September 3, 2010, this office issued an Order at Citation No. 09-2525 

suspending the liquor license of Licensee for a period of six days beginning at 7:00 a.m. on 

Monday, November 1, 2010 and ending at 7:00 a.m. on Sunday, November 7, 2010 

(Administrative Notice). 

 

 2. On each of the six days of suspension, officers of the Bureau visited the licensed 

premises.  They found the licensed premises to be closed; however, upon close inspection found 

no suspension placard that was visible from the outside either on the entrance door, exit door, 

window or otherwise visible from the outside (N.T. 8-15). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

  Section 15.62(a) of the Liquor Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §15.62(a)] 

requires in the case of suspension of a liquor license that the licensee post in a conspicuous place 

on the outside of the licensed premises or in a window plainly visible from outside of the 

licensed premises a notice of suspension in the form and size and containing the provisions the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge may require.  In this case two officers visited the licensed 

premises.  One visited the premises on November 1, 2 and 3, and the other on November 4, 5 and 

6.  Each officer carefully looked around the premises and was not able to find a notice of 

suspension.  Although Licensee claims to have posted a notice, it is clear, that even if the notice 

was posted it was not in a conspicuous place.  Therefore, I conclude that the charge in the 

citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since May 20, 2004, and has had thirteen prior violations: 

 

Citation No. 04-1035.  Fine $200.00. 

 1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could  

  be heard outside.  October 23, November 5 and 20,  

  2004. 
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Citation No. 06-2850X.  Fine $75.00.  Fine not paid and license 

suspended 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or  

  brewed beverages.  August 18 and September 28,  

  2006. 

 

Citation No. 07-0155.  Fine $250.00.  Fine not paid and license 

suspended 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could  

  be heard outside.  December 3, 2006. 

 

Citation No. 07-0734X.  Fine $150.00.  Fine not paid and license 

suspended 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or  

  brewed beverages.  February 2, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 07-1354C.  Fine $1,250.00 and RAMP training 

mandated. 

 1. Sales to a minor.  May 10, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 07-2519.  Fine $500.00 and 4 days suspension.  Fine 

not paid and license suspended an additional 1 day and thereafter 

until fine paid. 

 1. Sales after the license expired and had not been  

  renewed and/or validated.  September 1, 2007. 

 2. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the outside  

  of the licensed premises, a notice of suspension.   

  August 27, 28, 29, 30 and 31, 2007. 

 3. Sales during a time when the license was   

  suspended.  August 28, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 08-0545.  Fine $300.00 and 2 days suspension.  Fine 

not paid and license suspended an additional 1 day and thereafter 

until fine paid. 

 1. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the outside  

  of the licensed premises a notice of suspension.   

  February 4, 5 and 6, 2008. 

 2. Sales during a time when the license was   

  suspended.  February 4 and 6, 2008. 

 

Citation No. 08-1369.  Fine $250.00.  Find not paid and license 

suspended 1 day and thereafter until fine paid. 

 1. Operated the licensed establishment without a valid  

  health permit or license.  May 5, 2008. 
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Citation No. 08-1989X.  Fine $225.00. 

 1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or  

  brewed beverages.  June 25, 2008. 

 

 Citation No.  09-0081X.  Fine $230.00. 

 1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or  

  brewed beverages.  November 14, 2008. 

 

 Citation No.  09-0517.  Fine $250.00 and 1 day suspension with 

thereafter conditions.   

1. Failed to comply with the Order of the 

Administrative Law Judge mandating RAMP 

training.  December 12, 2008 through February 11, 

2009. 

 

Citation No. 09-2525.  6 days suspension. 

1. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the outside 

of the licensed premises a Notice of Suspension.  

October 5, 2009. 

2. Sales during a time when the license was 

suspended.  October 5, 2009. 

 

Citation No.  09-2548.  1 day suspension. 

1. Failed to post in a conspicuous place on the outside 

of the licensed premises a Notice of Suspension.  

October 8, 2009. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be fine of $200.00. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee ANNA MARIE DAVIS, pay a fine 

of $200.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine 

is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 
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 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this  22ND        day of June, 2011. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

Citation No. 10-2578 

Anna Marie Davis 

 


