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OPINION 

  7401 Kim & Kim, Inc. (“Licensee”) appeals from the Adjudication and 

Order of Administrative Law Judge Tania E. Wright (“ALJ”), mailed June 10, 

2011, wherein the ALJ sustained Citation No. 10-2604 (“Citation”) issued by the 

Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement (“Bureau”), 
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and imposed a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), ordered Licensee to 

comply with the requirements of section 471.1 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-

471.1] concerning the Responsible Alcohol Management Program (“RAMP”) 

within ninety (90) days of the Order and remain in compliance for a period of 

one (1) year from the date of the RAMP Certification, and ordered a two (2)-day 

suspension beginning at 7:00 a.m. on Monday, August 8, 2011 and ending at 

7:00 a.m. on Wednesday, August 10, 2011. 

The Citation charged Licensee with violating section 493(1) of the  Liquor 

Code [47 P.S. § 4-493(1)], in that on October 30, 2010, Licensee, by its servants, 

agents or employees, sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, 

furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to two (2) female minors, fifteen 

(15) and sixteen (16) years of age. 

     Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], the appeal in 

this case must be based solely on the record before the ALJ.  The Board shall 

only reverse the decision of the ALJ if the ALJ committed an error of law or 

abused his or her discretion, or if his or her decision was not based upon 

substantial evidence.  The Commonwealth Court defined “substantial 

evidence” to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as 

adequate to support a conclusion.  Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation 
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Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. 

Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 86 Pa. Cmwlth. 49, 484 A.2d 413 

(1984). 

In the instant appeal, Licensee challenges when the two (2)-day 

suspension period penalty imposed by the ALJ should take place.  Therefore, 

only the two (2)-day suspension, as issued in the ALJ’s Adjudication and Order, 

will be addressed by the Board.1   

Licensee argues that it did not agree to a recommended two (2)-day 

suspension in August 2011 and the dates of the suspension were not discussed 

before or during the hearing.  Also, Licensee argues that August is a very busy 

time for it and the lost sales during a suspension in August would be very 

damaging to it.  Lastly, Licensee requests the two (2)-day suspension be 

changed to sometime in January 2012.   

The imposition of penalties is the exclusive prerogative of the ALJ.  The 

Board may not disturb penalties that are within the parameters set forth in 

section 471(b) of the Liquor Code.  [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)].  Section 471(b) 

specifically prescribes a penalty of license suspension or revocation or a fine 

between one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) and five thousand dollars 

                                                 
1 Licensee’s Notice of Appeal incorrectly has the suspension starting on August 11, 2011. 
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($5,000.00), or both, for sales to minors.  The statute does not specify the 

number of days a license can be suspended and the only reference to when a 

suspension can occur is that a suspension shall not go into effect until thirty 

(30) days have elapsed from the adjudication.2   

Therefore, the ALJ’s Order that Licensee’s license be suspended for two 

(2) days beginning at 7:00 a.m. on Monday, August 8, 2011 and ending at 7:00 

a.m. on Wednesday, August 10, 2011, is clearly permissible and well within the 

scope of section 471(b).  Accordingly, the Board finds that the penalty was not 

excessive and the ALJ’s decision is affirmed.      

 

                                                 
2 The ALJ’s Adjudication and Order occurred on May 16, 2011 and the ALJ’s two (2)-day suspension begins on 
August 8, 2011, which is more than thirty (30) days. 
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ORDER 
 

 
The decision of the ALJ is affirmed. 

Licensee’s appeal is dismissed. 

The fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) for Citation No. 10-2604 has 

been paid. 

 The case is hereby remanded to the ALJ to ensure compliance with this 

Order, and for resetting of the suspension period. 

 

                            ___________________________________ 

                                      Board Secretary 

 
 


