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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on February 10, 2011, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against NORTHERN VENTURES, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-20485 (hereinafter 

“Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on January 15, 2011, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

minor, nineteen years of age. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on September 24, 2010 and was 

completed on January 18, 2011; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on January 27, 2011.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 
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 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on October 13, 2011 in the PA 

Department of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania.  No one 

appeared at the hearing on behalf of Licensee.  A citation hearing notice was sent to Licensee(s) 

at its address of record, Main & Ferry Sts., PO Box 396, Herndon, PA 17830-0396 by certified 

mail on August 26, 2011.  The notice set forth the date and time of the hearing as October 13, 

2011 at 11:30 am, and the place of hearing as PA Department of Agriculture, 2130 County 

Farms Road, Montoursville, PA 17754-9685. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. Underage Buyer #497 (hereinafter minor), was born on December 31, 1991, and 

on January 15, 2011 he was 19 years old (N.T. 18-19). 

 

 2. On January 15, 2011, as part of an Age Compliance Check, the minor entered the 

licensed premises through the side door and sat at the bar (N.T. 19). 

 

 3. When the bartender approached him, the minor asked for a Miller Lite draft beer.  

The minor was asked for his identification and he gave her his true and valid Pennsylvania 

Driver’s license (N.T. 19-20 and Exhibit C-7). 

 

 4. The bartender looked at his license and asked him again what he wanted.  The 

minor again said Miller Lite draft (N.T. 20). 

 

 5. The bartender asked for $2.75.  The minor gave her $10.00 and the bartender gave 

him $7.25 with his license.  She then served the minor the Miller Lite draft (N.T. 20). 

 

 6. The minor picked up the glass of beer, moved it closer to him and put it down.  

He then left the licensed premises (N.T. 20). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since September 28, 1989, and has had four prior violations: 

 

 Citation No.  90-0328.  Fine $150.00. 

 1. Advertised on the outside of the licensed premises  

  the price at which alcoholic beverages would be  

  sold. 
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Citation No. 92-0870.  Fine $300.00. 

 1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not  

  later than one-half hour after the required time. 

 2. Permitted patrons to possess and/or remove liquor  

  or malt or brewed beverages after 2:30 am 

 

Citation No. 95-0373.  Fine $1,000.00. 

 1. Sunday sales after 2:00 am 

 

Citation No. 02-1662.  Fine $150.00. 

 1. Engaged in unlawful discrimination in that you  

  provided alcoholic beverages to female patrons at a  

  reduced price while charging full price to male  

  patrons. 

 

Citation No. 08-0185.  Fine $300.00. 

 1. Discounted the price of alcoholic beverages for a  

  period or periods in excess of 2 hours in a business  

  day.  January 3, 2008. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

That Section further provides for mandatory compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 

[47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management when, as in this matter, 

Licensee has been found to have violated Section 493(1) as a first offense as it relates to sales to 

minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated patron. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $1,250.00 

and mandatory RAMP training. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee NORTHERN VENTURES, INC., pay a 

fine of $1,250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the 

aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s 

license shall be suspended or revoked. 
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IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us;  Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us) within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must receive Certification within 90 days of the mailing date 

of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date 

such Certification is issued.   

 

 Failure to comply with this Order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)]. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this  30TH        day of November, 2011. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us
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Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

Citation No. 11-0211C 

Northern Ventures, Inc. 

 


