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ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on March 11, 2001.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §5.32(a) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations, 40 Pa. Code §5.32(a), on January 30, 2011, by permitting the use on the 

inside of the licensed premises of a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or 

other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

A hearing was held on Friday, February 3, 2012, in Allentown, Pennsylvania.  The parties 

stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

On January 30, 2011, a liquor enforcement officer arrived in the area of the licensed 

premises at 12:45 a.m. and heard music emanating from it at distances as great as 120 feet.  He 

entered the premises and found that the source of the music was three loudspeakers inside, being 

used by a disc jockey playing rap music (N.T. 6-8). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since October 15, 1975, and has had prior violations since July 1, 

1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge, as follows:  



Marvis Leaf t/a Frank’s Place Page 2 

Citation No. 11-0312 

 

 

Citation No. 89-1772.  $250.00 fine. 

1. Sold, furnished or gave liquor for consumption off premises. 

 

Citation No. 91-1138.  $250.00 fine and 1 day suspension with thereafter conditions. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant (insufficient food and chairs at tables). 

 

Citation No. 99-0170.  $800.00 fine and 1 day suspension with conditions. 

1. Gambling (number bets). 

2. Unlawfully possessed liquor obtained from a source other than a PA state store. 

3. Not a bona fide restaurant in that chairs at tables were insufficient. 

 

Citation No. 07-1975.  $1,250.00 fine. 

1. Sales on Sunday after 2:00 a.m.  July 29, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 07-3009C.  $1,500.00 fine and R.A.M.P. – certification mandated. 

1. Sales to a minor.  November 15, 2007. 

 

Citation No. 08-1786.  $600.00 fine. 

1. Permitted patrons to possess alcoholic beverages after 2:30 a.m.  June 21, 2008. 

2. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises by the required time.  June 31, 2008. 

 

Citation No. 08-2788.  $650.00 fine. 

1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises by the required time.  October 25, 2008. 

 

Citation No. 09-0738.  $1,600.00 fine. 

1. Loudspeaker could be heard outside.   

November 21, 22, 2008; January 4 and February 14, 2009. 

2. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises by the required time.   

 October 19, 2008 and January 4, 2009. 

3. Permitted smoking in a public place where smoking was prohibited.   

November 21, 22, December 18, 2008; January 4 and February 14, 2009. 

4. Failed to post signs required by the Clean Indoor Air Act.   

November 21, 22, December 18, 2008; January 4 and February 14, 2009. 

 

Citation No. 10-1711C.  $1,000.00 fine and 1 day suspension. 

1. Sales to a minor.  July 23, 2010. 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type. 

This penalty is more lenient than the penalty for the same violation on four dates in late 

2008 and early 2009 for two reasons.  First, in this case the investigating officer visited the premises 

three times before January 30, 2011, without finding a violation.  Secondly, Licensee’s manager 

credibly testified in this case that care is taken, by making frequent outside visits, to see that music 

does not escape the licensed premises.  
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ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Marvis Leaf, t/a Frank’s Place, 

License No. R-AP-SS-11873, shall pay a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) within 20 days of 

the mailing date of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license 

will be suspended or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

 

Dated this     2ND              day of       MARCH                 , 2012. 

 

  

 

  
   David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.   

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY 

APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.    

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454. 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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