
Mailing Date: SEP 09 2011  

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE 

POLICE, BUREAU OF 

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT 

: 

: 

: 

 

Citation No. 11-0536 

 

v. 

 

: 

: 

: 

Incident No. W01-426986  

 

LID - 40931 

JOEYMAC INC 

3600-04 LANCASTER AVE 

PHILADELPHIA  PA  19104-2604 

 

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY 

LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-3438 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JUDGE SHENKLE 

BLCE COUNSEL:  James E. Dailey, Esq. 

LICENSEE:  no appearance 

 

ADJUDICATION 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on April 12, 2011.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §§491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) 

of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16), on March 8, 2011, by selling 

alcoholic beverages after its Restaurant Liquor License expired on October 31, 2010, and had not 

been renewed and/or validated. 

At the hearing scheduled for July 19, 2011, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there was 

no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the case was heard ex parte. 

FINDINGS OF FACT:      

1.  The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period February 24 through March 8, 2011, 

and sent it written notice of the results on March 15, 2011 (N.T. 7-8, Exhibit B-1). 

2.  A copy of this citation was mailed to Licensee on April 12, 2011 (N.T. 7-8, Exhibit B-2). 

3.  A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on June 2, 2011. 

4.  On March 8, 2011, a liquor enforcement officer visited the licensed premises and found 

it open, with a bartender on duty.  She purchased a bottle of beer, and then identified herself and 

asked to speak to the person in charge.  A minute later Licensee’s president arrived.  He was unable 

to produce evidence that Licensee had authority to operate (N.T. 4-7). 

5.  This license expired on October 31, 2010, and Licensee did not have authority to operate 

on March 8, 2011 (Exhibit B-3). 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Sustained as charged. 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since September 15, 1997, and has had no prior violations.              

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type. 

 

ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Joeymac, Inc., License No. R-AP-SS-

3438, shall pay a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) within 20 days of the mailing date of this 

order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be suspended or 

revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this     1ST              day of      SEPTEMBER                  , 2011. 

 

  

  
jb  David L. Shenkle, J. 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.   

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY 

APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.    

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454. 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal and 

business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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