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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 6, 2011, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter Bureau) against Ven-

Bar, Inc., t/a Ven-Bar, License Number R-SS-8947 (hereinafter Licensee). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code, [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)], in that on February 22, 2011, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, 

sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to 

one (1) minor, eighteen (18) years of age. 
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 An administrative hearing was conducted on October 20, 2011, at 2084 Interchange 

Road, Erie, Pennsylvania.  The Bureau was represented by Emily Gustave, Esquire.  Licensee 

was represented by Peter J. Nelson, Pro Se. 

 

 The Bureau began its investigation of this matter on February 22, 2011, and completed its 

investigation on February 24, 2011.  Thereafter, Licensee was notified of the nature of the 

violation(s) disclosed by the investigation in a letter sent by certified mail on March 17, 2011.  

Counsel for Licensee stipulates that the notice provisions of Section 471 of the Liquor Code have 

been satisfied. 

 

 After hearing the testimony presented, and upon review of the evidence submitted, the 

following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law are entered: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1.  The Bureau commenced its investigation of Licensee’s premises on February 22, 

2011, and completed its investigation on February 24, 2011.  (N.T. 6, Exhibit C-1) 

 

2.  The Bureau notified Licensee of the nature of the alleged violation(s) disclosed by its 

investigation in a letter dated March 17, 2011, which was sent by certified mail and returned 

unclaimed by Licensee.  (N.T. 6, Exhibit C-2) 

 

  3.  The citation was issued on April 6, 2011, and was sent by certified mail and received 

by Licensee.  (N.T. 8, Exhibits C-3, C-4) 

 

 4.  On February 22, 2011, at 5:59 p.m., two Liquor Enforcement officers entered 

Licensee’s premises in undercover capacities and observed a male bartender, later identified as 

James C. Davis III rendering service to 12 patrons.  Having entered as part of the Bureau’s Age 

Compliance Check Program, the Enforcement officers determined that the premises was secure 

for the entry of underage buyer #502.  (N.T. 8, Exhibits C-5) 

 

 5.  At 6:15 p.m., underage buyer #502 (date of birth August 19, 1992) entered Licensee’s 

premises and took a seat at the bar.  Underage buyer #502 ordered a bottle of Bud Light beer, at 

which time the bartender requested identification.  (N.T. 9, Exhibit C-5) 

 

 6.  Underage buyer #502 furnished the bartender with her true and correct Pennsylvania 

photo driver’s license clearly indicating that she was under 21 years of age.  After examining this 

photo driver’s license, the bartender returned it to underage buyer #502 and served the requested 

bottle of Bud Light beer for $2.75.  (N.T. 11, Exhibit C-5) 

 

 7.  Upon receiving service of the bottle of Bud light beer, underage buyer #502 turned the 

bottle with the label facing the Liquor Enforcement Officers who were also seated at the bar and 

remained in an undercover capacity.  (N.T. 1, Exhibit C-5) 
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 8.  Underage buyer #502 departed Licensee’s premises a few minutes later without 

consuming any alcoholic beverages. (N.T. 12, Exhibit C-5) 

 

 9.  Immediately following the departure of underage buyer #502, a supervising Liquor 

Enforcement officer entered Licensee’s premises and identified himself to the bartender James 

C. Davis III and advised him of the alleged violation.  (N.T. 12, Exhibit C-5) 

 

 10. The Bureau mailed a Notice of Non-compliance to Licensee’s premises on February 

24, 2011. (N.T. 30, Exhibit C-6) 

 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1.  The notice provisions as prescribed by Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-

471] have been satisfied.   

 

 2.  On February 22, 2011, Licensee, by its bartender, sold, furnished and/or gave or 

permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one (1) minor, eighteen (18) 

years of age, in violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code, [47 P.S. §4-493(1)].  

 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

 Upon thorough review of the testimony and evidence presented, this court concludes that 

the Bureau has established the violation as charged by a clear preponderance of the evidence.  
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board v. Leggens, 542 A.2d 653 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1988); Omicron 

Enterprises, 449 A.2d 857 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1982); Com. v. Moreno, 14 A.3d 133 (Pa.Super. 2011).   

 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since November 22, 1973, and has had five (5) prior 

violation(s) since July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law 

Judge, to wit: 

 

Citation No. 98-0310.  Fine $50.00. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages. 

 

Citation No. 00-0963.  Fine $125.00. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages. 
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Citation No. 00-1122. 1 day suspension. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages. 

 

Citation No. 00-1719.  1 day suspension. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages. 

 

Citation No. 01-0101.  Fine $125.00 and 1 day suspension. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages. 

 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 After due consideration of the circumstances giving rise to the citation and Licensee’s 

status as a first-time offender, a fine of $1,100.00 and mandatory R.A.M.P. training will be 

imposed as the penalty in the case. 

 

 Licensee’s sole corporate officer Peter J. Nelson appeared Pro Se at the Administrative 

Hearing.  Mr. Nelson testified that as the result of this investigation, Licensee had purchased an 

electronic scanning device for use in scanning identification and has received R.A.M.P. 

certification.  Mr. Nelson further advises that Mr. Davis is no longer employed by Licensee. 

 

 Moreover, Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)] provides for mandatory 

compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible 

Alcohol Management when, as in this case, Licensee has been found to have violated Section 

493(1) as a first offense as it relates to sales to minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated patron. 

 

ORDER: 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Ven-Bar, Inc., t/a Ven-Bar, License Number R-

SS-8947, pay a fine of $1,100.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event 

the aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, 

Licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked.   

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the mailing date of 

the Order. 
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 Jurisdiction is retained to ensure compliance with this Order. 

 

 

Dated this     28TH              day of _____November_______________, 2011. 

 

          
               Roderick Frisk, J. 

 

ddj 

 

 

NOTE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS 

OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

If you wish to appeal the decision of the Administrative Law Judge’s Order, the appeal must be 

filed within 30 days of the mailing date of the Order.  Please contact Chief Counsel’s Office at 

717-783-9454.   

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  

Personal checks, which include business-use personal checks, are not acceptable .  Please 

make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:  

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 

 

Citation No. 11-0554C 

Ven-Bar, Inc. 

 


