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BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on June 23, 2011, by the Bureau
of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against

DERRY BEVERAGE, LLC, License Number D-SS-3742 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-493(26)] in that Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, issued checks or drafts
dated April 27, 2011, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when it had
insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution on which drawn for the payment of such

checks.

The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on May 19, 2011 and was
completed on June 1, 2011; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail on

June 1, 2011. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.
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An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on November 16, 2011 in the
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, 2130 County Farms Road, Montoursville,
Pennsylvania.

Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On April 27, 2011, Licensee purchased malt and/or brewed beverages from
Edwin H. Kleckner, Inc. In payment therefore Licensee issued its check in the amount of
$1,870.70. The check was returned by Licensee’s bank for insufficient funds (N.T. 10-12 and
Exhibit C-4).

2. Licensee was warned concerning the issuance of a dishonored check to Edwin H.
Kleckner, Inc. in the 2011 calendar year by letter dated February 25, 2011. The letter was sent
relative to Check No. 1595 dated January 19, 2011 in the amount of $1,458.55. This check was
issued in payment for malt or brewed beverages and was dishonored due to insufficient funds.
The check was made good in a timely manner (N.T. 12 and Exhibit C-6).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

The charge in the citation is sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since March 27, 2009, and has had three prior violations:

Citation No. 10-0780X. Fine $150.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. February 10, 2010.

Citation No. 11-0257X. Fine $200.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. December 22, 2010.

Citation No. 11-0801X. Fine $250.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. March 2, 2011.

PENALTY:
Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.
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Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $300.00.
ORDER
THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee DERRY BEVERAGE, INC., pay a fine
of $300.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine
is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be
suspended or revoked.

Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this _315T  day of January, 2012.

w75 .

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J.
an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY
ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER,
ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE
MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER. PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE
AT 717-783-9454.

Detach here and submit stub with payment
The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order. Personal
and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Make guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Citation No. 11-1078X
Derry Beverage, Inc.



