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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE
PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF . INRE: CITATION NO. 11-1095
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT

BLCE INCIDENT NO. WO03-428544

PLCB LID - 25700
HEAD’S UP, INC. :
T/A LAMP POST INN © PLCB LICENSE NO. H-AP-SS-EHF-2162
101 E. MAIN ST. :
MIDDLETOWN, PA 17057-1829

ADJUDICATION
BEFORE JUDGE THAU
BUREAU COUNSEL PIETRZAK
LICENSEE: J. KENNETH BUTERA, ESQUIRE

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on June 23, 2011, by the Bureau
of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against

HEAD’S UP, INC., License Number H-AP-SS-EHF-2162 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation contains four counts.

The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-471] and Sections 7202 and 7403 of the Tax Reform Code of 1971 [72 P.S. §87202 and
7403] in that Licensee, Head’s Up, Inc., violated the Tax Reform Code of 1971, in that it failed
and/or refused to remit, in a timely manner, to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department
of Revenue, sales tax and corporate tax due and owing for the period of June 30, 2010 through

May 12, 2011, in the amount of $14,217.90.
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The second count charges Licensee with violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-471] and Sections 7215, 7216 and 7318 of the Tax Reform Code of 1971 [72 P.S.
887215, 7216 and 7318] in that Licensee, Head’s Up, Inc., violated the Tax Reform Code of
1971, in that it failed and/or refused to file, in a timely manner, Employer Withholding tax
returns with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of Revenue, for the periods July 1
through September 30, October 1 through December 31, 2009, January 1 through March 31,
April 1 through June 30, July 1 through September 30, October 1 through December 1, 2010 and
January 1 through March 31, 2011.

The third count charges Licensee with violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-471] and Section 7208(c) of the Tax Reform Code of 1971 [72 P.S. §7208(c)] in that on
March 21, 2011, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, engaged in taxable sales or
service without a sales tax license.

The fourth count charges Licensee with violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-471] and Section 637.6(a)(2) of the Clean Indoor Air Act [35 P.S. §637.6(a)(2)] in that
on April 26, 2011, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, smoked and/or permitted
smoking in a public place where smoking was prohibited.

The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on March 30, 2011 and was
completed on May 12, 2011; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail
onJune 7,2011. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on July 19, 2012 in the Office of
Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg,
Pennsylvania.

Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

Counts No. 1 and 2

1. For the period charged, Licensee failed to remit taxes, in the aggregate amount of
$14,217.90, to the Department of Revenue (N.T. 4-28).

Count No. 3

2. On the date charged, Licensee engaged in taxable sales without a sales tax license
(N.T. 5-28).
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Count No. 4
3. On the date charged, Licensee permitted smoking on the licensed premises (N.T.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Counts No. 1, 2, 3 and 4 of the citation are sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since June 6, 1990, and has had fourteen prior violations:

IN RE:

Citation No. 90-2096. Fine $400.00.
1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons.

Citation No. 90-2434. Fine $1,250.00.

1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could
be heard outside.
2. Sales to a minor.

Citation No. 91-1710. Fine $300.00.
1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could
be heard outside.

Citation No. 04-1243. Fine $150.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. May 24, 2004.

Citation No. 05-2530. Fine $200.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. September 13 and 27, 2005.

Citation No. 06-0072. Fine $250.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. November 8, 2005.

Citation No. 07-0253. Fine $350.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. December 12, 2006.
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Citation No. 07-0739. Fine $400.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. January 29 and 30, 2007.

Citation No. 07-2544X. Fine $500.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. September 4 and 11, 2007.

Citation No. 08-0783. Fine $1,750.00 and RAMP training
mandated.
1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons. November 18,
2007.

Citation No. 08-1772X. Fine $600.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. May 27, 2008.

Citation No. 08-2431X. Fine $650.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. August 4, 2008.

Citation No. 09-1123X. Fine $750.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. March 12 and 17, 2009.

Citation No. 09-1715X. Fine $850.00.
1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or
brewed beverages. May 5, 8, 12 and 19, 2009.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.

Both the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue and the Bureau of Liquor Control
Enforcement join in a request for leniency recognizing that Licensee mismanaged the business
without any intent to defraud the Commonwealth. Both agencies value the goal of ending this
matter in a way that closes all delinquent tax files. The parties confirm that Licensee is now
current on all tax obligations and has filed all required returns.

Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows:

Counts 1, 2 &3 - $300.00 fine
Count 4 - $200.00 fine
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ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee HEAD’S UP, INC., pay a fine
of $500.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order. In the event the aforementioned fine
is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be
suspended or revoked.

Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this _25™  day of September, 2012.

Flp Al

Felix Thau, ALJ

an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY
ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER,
ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE
MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER. PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE
AT 717-783-9454.

Detach here and submit stub with payment
The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order. Personal
and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Make guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661
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