
Mailing Date: SEP 20 2012  

 

 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

FOR THE 

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE 

POLICE, BUREAU OF 

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

IN RE: CITATION NO. 11-1369 

 

BLCE INCIDENT NO. W03-431735 

 

v. : 

: 

: 

 

 

PLCB LID - 63210 

2350 N. GEORGE, INC. 

2350 N. GEORGE ST. 

YORK, PA 17406-3202 

 

 

: 

: 

: 

 

PLCB LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-17998 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BEFORE JUDGE THAU 

BUREAU COUNSEL PIETRZAK 

LICENSEE: JAMES M. PETRASCU, ESQUIRE 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 4, 2011, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

2350 N. GEORGE, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-17998 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation contains two counts. 

 

 The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 5.32(a) of the Liquor Control 

Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.32(a)] in that on June 5, 9 and 19, 2011, Licensee, by its 

servants, agents or employes, used, or permitted to be used on the inside of the licensed 

premises, a loudspeaker or similar device whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or 

the advertisement thereof, could be heard outside. 

 

 The second count charges Licensee with violation of Section 499(a) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-499(a)] in that on June 19, 2011, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, failed 

to require patrons to vacate that part of the premises habitually used for the service of alcoholic 

beverages not later than one-half hour after the required time for the cessation of the service of 

alcoholic beverages. 
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 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on June 5, 2011 and was 

completed on June 23, 2011; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail 

on July 20, 2011.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on July 19, 2012 in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

Count No. 1 

 

  1. On the three dates charged, a Bureau Enforcement Officer heard amplified music 

escaping the premises as far away as 110 feet (N.T. 9-19). 

 

Count No. 2 

 

 2. On June 19, 2011, two Bureau Enforcement Officers conducted an outside 

surveillance of the licensed premises beginning at 2:20 a.m.  They were seated in a vehicle 

approximately 50 feet from the licensed premises.  One Officer used binoculars (N.T. 30-40). 

 

 3. The area in front of the licensed premises is well lit.  The Officers’ position 

provided an unobstructed view (N.T. 57-59). 

 

 4. The Officer observed two men depart the premises at 2:45 a.m.  The two escorted 

a woman to a car.  One of the two re-entered the premises.  The second stood in front of the 

premises drinking a beer, which he had in hand when he left the premises. (N.T. 58-60). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

  Counts No. 1 and 2 of the citation are sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

 Since an employe left the premises with an alcoholic beverage at 2:45 a.m., it necessarily 

follows he possessed it within the premises after 2:30 a.m.  As I have repeatedly concluded, an 

employe who possesses an alcoholic beverage after 2:30 a.m. is a patron as defined by the Liquor 

Code. 
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PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since April 1, 2010, and has had no prior violations.  Licensee 

is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows: 

 

  Count 1 - $   200.00 fine 

  Count 2 - $1,000.00 fine 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee 2350 N. GEORGE, INC., pay a fine 

of $1,200.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    14TH      day of September, 2012. 

 

       

    
        Felix Thau, ALJ 

 

         

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  
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IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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2350 N. GEORGE, INC. 

 


