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BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  John H. Pietrzak, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Ex Parte 

 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued 

on September 1, 2011, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State 

Police (Bureau) against Ace’s Inn, Inc. (Licensee). 
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The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(26)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, issued 

checks or drafts dated June 14, 2011, in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, 

when you had insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the 

payment of such checks. 

 

 I presided at an evidentiary hearing on December 12, 2011 at the Brandywine Plaza, 2221 

Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 

. 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Office of Administrative Law Judge mailed a notice of hearing on October 

21, 2011, by certified mail, return receipt requested.  The notice was received and signed for the 

following day.  

 

2. The Bureau began its investigation on July 11, 2011 and completed it on July 28, 

2011.  (N.T. 9) 

 

 3. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested on, August 2, 2011.  The notice alleged the 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 7) 

 

 4. On the date charged, Licensee issued a check, in the amount of $2,089.32 to an 

importing distributor, for the purchase of beer.  The check was dishonored due to insufficient 

funds but made good within ten days.  The Bureau issued a warning letter to Licensee for a 

check, earlier in the calendar year, that was issued for the purchase of beer from the same 

importing distributor.  That check was also dishonored due to insufficient funds.  

(Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-5-6, N.T. 7-16) 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. The violation is sustained as charged.  
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ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since August 12, 2004, and has the following Adjudication 

history:    

 

Docket No. 04-2322.  Fine $1,250.00. 

 Sales to a minor on October 20, 2004. 

 

Docket No. 07-2194C. Fine $1,500.00 and R.A.M.P. training mandated. 

 Sales to a minor on July 26, 2007. 

 

Docket No. 08-1266.  Fine $300.00. 

Failed to comply with the order of the Administrative Law Judge 

mandating R.A.M.P. training during the period of February 6 

through April 21, 2008. 

 

Docket No. 09-1760.  Fine $100.00. 

 Failed to post signage as required by the Clean Indoor Air Act on 

 June 6, 2009. 

 

Docket No. 11-0628. Fine $350.00. 

1. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic beverages 

after 2:30 a.m. on December 19, 2010 

2. Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted 

gambling on the licensed premises (sports pools), on January 

25, 2011. 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 

Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension, or revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for 

the violation found herein. 

 

Discretionary Component(s) 

 

As Licensee has failed to obey process and has further provided no mitigation, I impose a 

$1,000.00 fine. 
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ORDER: 

 

Imposition of Fine  

 

 Licensee must pay a $1,000.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 

 

Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

Dated this    29TH        day of March, 2012. 

  

 

 

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

bc 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  Therefore, you may want to consult with an 

attorney.   
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Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 

 

 

 

Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified.  Make guaranteed check 

payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 
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