Mailing Date: MAR 16 2012

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :
POLICE, BUREAU OF : Citation No. 11-1676X
LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT
Incident No. W01-434417
V.
LID - 50153
E V CINC T/A PARKWAY ROOM
2201 PENNSYLVANIA AVE
FIRST FLOOR WEST
PHILADELPHIA PA 19130-3509

PHILADELPHIA COUNTY
LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-3784

JUDGE SHENKLE
BLCE COUNSEL: Erik S. Shmukler, Esq.
LICENSEE: no appearance

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on September 27, 2011. The citation alleges that Licensee violated §493(26) of the Liquor
Code, 47 P.S. 84-493(26), by issuing checks or drafts dated June 30 and July 1, 2011, in payment
for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when there were insufficient funds in, or credit with, the

institution upon which drawn for the payment of such checks.

At the hearing scheduled for February 7, 2012, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there

was no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the case was heard ex parte.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period August 1 through August 19, 2011,

and sent it written notice of the results on August 26, 2011 (N.T. 8, Exhibit B-1).

2. A copy of this citation was mailed to Licensee on September 27, 2011 (N.T. 9, Ex. B-2).

3. A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on December 22, 2011.
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4. On June 30, 2011, Licensee issued a check to Penn Distributors, Inc., in the amount of
$2,526.00, in payment the purchase of malt or brewed beverages (N.T. 5-10).

5. On July 1, 2011, Licensee issued a check to Penn Distributors, Inc., in the amount of
$505.20, in payment the purchase of malt or brewed beverages (N.T. 5-10).

6. Both checks were dishonored on presentation because of insufficient funds. Neither
check was made good within ten days (N.T. 5-10).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since November 8, 2002, and has had four prior violations:

Citation No. 08-2173. $2,800.00 fine and R.A.M.P. — certification mandated.
1. Salesto a visibly intoxicated person. May 9, 2008.
2. Offered and/or gave alcoholic beverages as a prize. June 19, 2008.
3. Saleson Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. August 3, 2008.
4. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises by the required time. August 3, 2008.
5. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic beverages after 2:30 a.m. August 3, 2008.

Citation No. 09-2690X. $100.00 fine.
1. Bad checks for malt or brewed beverages. October 2, 2009.

Citation No. 09-2800X. $150.00 fine.
1. Bad checks for malt or brewed beverages. October 21, 2009.

Citation No. 11-1038. $1,250.00 fine.
1. Sales after license expired and had not been renewed or validated. April 28, 2011.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension
or revocation or a fine in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type.
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ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, E.V.C, Inc., t/a Parkway Room,
License No. R-AP-SS-3784, shall pay a fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) within 20 days of the
mailing date of this order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will
be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this __ 8™ day of MARCH , 2012.

(O pf e

David L. Shenkle, J.

jb

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY
APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment
The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order. Personal and
business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Citation No. 11-1676X
E.V.C., Inc.



