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BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on November 9, 2011, by the

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”)
against BART SPRINGER, License Number R-AP-SS-4386 (hereinafter “Licensee”).

The citation charges Licensee with violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of
the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 884-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16)] in that on September 6, 2011,
Licensee, by his servants, agents or employes, sold alcoholic beverages after his Restaurant
Liquor license expired on August 31, 2011, and had not been renewed and/or validated.

The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on September 6, 2011 and was
completed on September 29, 2011; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified
Mail on October 11, 2011. The notice of violation was received by Licensee.

An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on February 15, 2012 in the Scranton
State Office Building, 100 Lackawanna Avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania.
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Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and
reach the following Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. Licensee’s restaurant liquor license expired on August 31, 2011, and, as of
September 6, 2011, Licensee did not have the authority to dispense alcoholic beverages (N.T.
Exhibit C-3).

2. On September 6, 2011, an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed premises at
1:20 p.m. He entered the first serving area where he saw people dining. He proceeded to a small
bar where he took a seat. He was approached by a female serving person. He ordered a
Carslberg bottled beer (N.T. 9).

3. The beer was served to the officer, and he placed a $5.00 bill on the bar. The
officer drank a portion of the beer (N.T. 10-11).

CONCLUSION OF LAW:

The charge in the citation is sustained.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since March 3, 2011, and has had no prior violations.
Licensee is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license
suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for
violations of the type found in this case.

Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a one day suspension.
ORDER
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the restaurant liquor license (including all permits and
Licensee Discount Card) of BART SPRINGER, License No. R-AP-SS-4386 be suspended for a

period of one day BEGINNING at 7:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 25, 2012 and ENDING at 7:00
a.m. on Thursday, July 26, 2012.
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Licensee is directed on July 25, 2012 at 7:00 a.m. to place the enclosed placard of notice
of suspension (identified as Form No. PLCB-1925 and as printed with red and black ink) in a
conspicuous place on the outside of the licensed premises or in a window plainly visible from
outside the licensed premises and to remove said license from the wall and place it in a secure
location.

Licensee is advised if replacement placards are needed for any reason they are available
at all Pennsylvania Liquor Stores/Wine & Spirits Shoppes.

The Bureau is directed to visit and monitor the aforementioned licensed premises for
compliance with this Order.

Licensee is authorized on July 26, 2012 at 7:00 a.m. to remove the placard of suspension
and return his license to its original wall location.

Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this _8™ day of May, 2012.

At 7

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J.

an

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY
ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER,
ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE
MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER. PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE
AT 717-783-9454.



