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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :Inre Citation No. 12-0387

POLICE, BUREAU OF :

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT : BLCE Incident No. W01-437788
V. . PLCB LID No. 51315

THREE BEARS LLC . PLCB License No. R-AP-SS-7602

1512 SHUNK ST
PHILADELPHIA PA 19145-4637

JUDGE SHENKLE
BLCE COUNSEL: Andrew R. Britt, Esq.
LICENSEE: no appearance

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on March 13, 2012. The citation alleges that Licensee violated 88491(1), 492(2) and
493(16) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 884-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16), on December 3, 2011, by
selling alcoholic beverages after its Restaurant Liquor License expired on October 31, 2011, and
had not been renewed and/or validated.

At the hearing scheduled for August 2, 2012, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, there was
no appearance for the Licensee; therefore, the case was heard ex parte.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau investigated Licensee during the period October 14, 2011, through January
13, 2012, and sent it written notice of the results on February 9, 2012 (N.T. 8-9, Exhibit B-1).

2. A copy of this citation was mailed to Licensee on March 13, 2012 (N.T. 8-9, Ex. B-2).
3. A Notice of Hearing was mailed to Licensee on June 13, 2012.

4. On Saturday, December 3, 2011, a liquor control enforcement officer entered the
licensed premises at about 11:30 p.m. and saw about 20 patrons in possession of alcoholic
beverages, attended by two bartenders. The officer purchased beer (N.T. 6).

5. This license had expired on October 31, 2011, and Licensee did not have authority to
dispense alcoholic beverages on December 3, 2011 (Exhibit B-3).
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since July 23, 2003, and has had prior violations as follows:

In re Citation No. 05-0935. $100.00 fine.
1. Operated without a valid health permit.

In re Citation No. 11-0511. $1,250.00 fine.
1. Sales after license expired. March 2, 2011.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension
or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type.

This case is a repeat of the incident of March 2, 2011, in which Licensee’s member told the
investigating officer that “his accountant had taken care of the paperwork and that everything was
up to date,” although he could not produce a current liquor license.

In this case Licensee’s member did not appear at the hearing scheduled for August 2, 2012,
but submitted a hand-written statement on a form used for prehearing memoranda. This statement
does not count as evidence; if Licensee had wanted to make a plea for leniency the time to do it was
at the scheduled hearing. Alternatively, if Licensee had waived the hearing (as it did before,
regarding Citation No. 11-0511) | would have considered a written statement in mitigation.

If Licensee’s member has difficulty reading the English language, he should get help from
someone with better reading skills, because all of this company’s problems so far have come from a
failure to read and pay attention to important documents.

A liquor license, for example, is an important document. It clearly states on the front the
date when it expires. When the license is properly hanging on the wall and the expiration date is
still in the future, it is lawful for a licensee to dispense alcoholic beverages during permitted hours.
When that expiration date is in the past, Licensee’s member and manager must have some other
written authority from the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board or else they are committing an
offense for which they could be arrested and sentenced to a term of imprisonment.

This is the same problem Licensee faced in 2005, when the premises was found to be open
on a number of dates although the health permit had expired.

These problems will continue to worsen if Licensee’s member continues to misread or
misunderstand the nature of the significant documents which must be current to engage in this
closely regulated business.
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ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, Three Bears, LLC, License No. R-AP-
SS-7602, shall pay a fine of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) within 20 days of the
mailing date of this order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will
be suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this __ 28™ day of AUGUST , 2012.

(O (e

David L. Shenkle, J.

jb

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY
APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment
The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, certified check or money order. Personal and
business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661
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