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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  Emily L. Gustave, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Ex Parte 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing two counts, that was issued 

on September 5, 2012, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State 

Police (Bureau) against Mark L. Wilson (Licensee). 

 

The first count charges Licensee with a violation of Section 102 of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §1-102].  The charge is that, Licensee’s licensed premises was not a bona fide restaurant in 

that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, maintained insufficient food items, eating 

utensils, dishes and seating, on June 20, 2012. 
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 The second count charges Licensee with a violation of Section 5.23(c) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.23(c)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your 

servants, agents, or employees, failed to notify the Board within fifteen (15) days of a change of 

manager, during the period January 31, 2012 through August 14, 2012. 

 

 I presided at an evidentiary hearing on August 14, 2013 at 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, 

Pennsylvania. 

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Office of Administrative Law Judge sent a notice of hearing to Licensee at 

the address of record on June 24, 2013, by certified mail, return receipt requested.  The notice 

was received and signed for on June 27, 2013.   

 

2. The Bureau began its investigation on March 3, 2012 and completed it on August 

14, 2012.  (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 8)   

 

3. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on August 22, 2012.  The notice alleged 

violations as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 6) 

 

Count No. 1 

 

4. On the date charged, Licensee was not a bona fide restaurant as Licensee 

maintained no food.  There also was no seating. (N.T. 10-12) 

 

Count No. 2 

 

5. Licensee changed Managers but failed to report same to the Pennsylvania Liquor 

Control Board. (N.T. 12-13) 

 

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

Count Nos. 1 and 2 

 

 2. I sustain the violations as charged.  
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PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since October 22, 2008, and has the following Adjudication 

history: 

    

In Re Citation No.: 09-1597.  Fine $150.00. 

Failed to keep records on the licensed premises on June 16, 

2009. 

 

In Re Citation No.: 09-2762C.  10 days suspension and RAMP 

training mandated. 

1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later 

than one-half hour after the required time on October 24, 

2009. 

2. Sales to a minor on October 22, 2009. 

3. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons on September 3, 2009. 

 

In Re Citation No.: 10-1256.  Fine $1,700.00 and 6 days suspension. 

1. Sales to visibly intoxicated persons on April 10 and 16, 2010. 

2. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby music could be 

heard outside on April 16, 2010. 

3. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later 

than one-half hour after the required time on May 8, 2010. 

4. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic beverages 

after 2:30 a.m. on May 8, 2010. 

 

In Re Citation No.: 10-2652.  20 days suspension. 

  Sales to a visibly intoxicated person on September 18, 2010. 

 

 In Re Citation No.: 11-0666C.  7 days suspension. 

  Sales to a minor on March 18, 2011. 

 

In Re Citation No.: 11-1761.  Revocation. 

1. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed   

beverages dated June 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, July 16, 18, and 

19, 2011. 

2. Failed to maintain malt or brewed beverage dispensing 

system cleaning records during the period July 8 through 

August 17, 2011. 

3. Failed to keep records on the licensed premises on August 

17, 2011. 
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4. Fortified, adulterated and/or contaminated liquor on August 

17, 2011. 

5. Not a bona fide restaurant in that food items were 

insufficient on August 17, 2011. 

6. Failed to notify the Board within 15 days of a change of 

Manager during the period July 1 through August 17, 2011. 

7. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby the sound of music 

could be heard outside on July 8, 2011. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  11-2002X.  Revocation. 

Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages dated September 5, 2011. 

 

 In Re Citation No.:  12-0306.  6 days suspension deferred. 

1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby the sound of music 

could be heard outside on October 22, 2011. 

2. Failed to notify the Board within 15 days of a change of 

manager during the period August 18, 2011 through 

January 30, 2012. 

3. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later 

than one-half hour after the required time on October 22, 

2011. 

4. Failed to maintain complete and truthful records covering 

the operation of the licensed business for a period of 2 

years immediately preceding October 22, 2011. 

5. Issued worthless checks in payment for malt or brewed 

beverages dated October 13 and 15, 2011. 

6. Transported malt or brewed beverages without a license on 

twenty dates between June 18, 2011 and November 17, 

2011. 

  

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 
Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000, or both for the violations 

found herein. 

 
Discretionary Component(s) 

 

 As the license has already been revoked, I revoke the license. 
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ORDER: 

 

 Therefore, this license is revoked for administrative purposes. 

 
Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

Dated this     18TH       day of September, 2013. 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

bc 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  Therefore, you may want to consult with an 

attorney.   

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 

 

 

Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/

