Mailing Date: MAY 31 2013

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE
PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE, : In Re Citation No.: 12-1487
BUREAU OF LIQUOR CONTROL
ENFORCEMENT (BLCE)
BLCE Incident No.: W02-450984
V.

RIVERCREEK, LLC : PLCB LID No.: 59034
219-221 N. FIRST ST. :

LEHIGHTON, PA 18235
PLCB License No.: R-AP-SS-13128

ADJUDICATION

BEFORE: Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge
FOR BLCE: Craig A. Strong, Esquire

LICENSEE: Frank Miller, Managing Partner

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued on October
17, 2012, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police
(Bureau) against Rivercreek, LLC (Licensee).

The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of
the Liquor Code [47 P.S. 884-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16)]. The charge is that Licensee, by
your servants, agents, or employees, sold alcoholic beverages after your restaurant liquor license
expired on August 31, 2012 and had not been renewed and/or validated, on September 5, 2012.
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| presided at an evidentiary hearing on April 25, 2013 at 100 Lackawanna Avenue,
Scranton, Pennsylvania.

Therefore, |1 make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on September 5, 2012 and completed it
on September 11, 2012. (N.T. 19)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed
premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on September 25, 2012. The notice was
subsequently sent out by first class mail on October 10, 2012. The notice alleged the violation as
charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 27)

3. On September 5, 2012, Licensee was open and in operation, selling alcoholic
beverages after its license expired on August 31, 2012. (N.T. 40-44)

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] have been
satisfied.

2. I sustain the violation as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since February 15, 2008, and has no prior Adjudications.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA:

Mandatory Requirement(s)

Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or
revocation, or a fine of not less than $1,000.00, or more than $5,000.00, or both for the violation
found herein.
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Discretionary Component(s)

| impose a $1,250.00 fine.

ORDER:

In Re Citation No.: 12-1487; Licensee, Rivercreek, LLC; PLCB LID No.: 59034;
PLCB License No.: R-AP-SS-13128

Imposition of Fine

Licensee must pay a $1,250.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this
Adjudication. The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner. If
Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.

Retaining Jurisdiction

| retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.

Dated this _ 23R day of May, 2013.

Ll A

Felix Thau, A.L.J.

bc

General Information

This Adjudication is a legal document. It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.
The information which follows is a general guide. Therefore, you may want to consult with an
attorney.
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Applying for Reconsideration

If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must
submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee. Both must be received by the
Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine
Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this
Adjudication’s mailing date. Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.
The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241.

Appeal Rights

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the
mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454). For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us. The
full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. 8§4-471.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment
The fine must be paid by Cashier’s Check, Certified Check or Money Order. Personal
and business checks are not acceptable unless bank certified. Make guaranteed check
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail to:

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661
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