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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this 

citation on January 15, 2013.  The citation alleges that Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor 

Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on December 7, 2012, and one unknown date within the past year, by 

selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic 

beverages to three minors between seventeen and twenty years of age. 

A hearing was held on July 16, 2013, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania.  The parties 

stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. A liquor enforcement officer assigned by the Bureau to investigate Licensee visited the 

premises twice in the weeks prior to December 7, 2012, and observed no violations (N.T. 6-8). 

2. On December 7, 2012, the officer and other officers of the Bureau conducted a 

surveillance of the licensed premises, beginning at 8:00 p.m.  In a little while they saw a vehicle 

arrive with young-looking people in it.  Two men and a woman got out of the car and entered the 

licensed premises, empty-handed.  They came out of the premises carrying five 40-ounce bottles of 

beer and a 40-ounce bottle of malt liquor.  The liquor enforcement officers identified themselves to 

these people and asked to see identification (N.T. 8-9). 
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3. One of the people the officers saw was a woman whose birth date was August 22, 1995.  

She entered the licensed premises on that date, put an ID on the counter, and asked for five 40’s of 

beer and one of malt liquor.  She was not asked for identification, but just put the ID down as soon 

as she walked into the store. The identification was not hers; it was the expired driver’s license of a 

woman whose birth date was November 9, 1988.  The clerk looked at the card briefly, handed it 

back to the woman, and provided the beverages requested (N.T. 15-16, Exhibit B-3). 

4. The woman described in the preceding finding of fact is 5’1” tall and has brown eyes. 

The woman whose expired license she presented was 5’5” and had hazel eyes.  The woman who 

testified did not resemble the woman in the photograph (N.T. 20-21, Exhibit B-3). 

5. One of the men who assisted in carrying the beverages out of the licensed premises had a 

birth date of October 27, 1994 (N.T. 23-24). 

6. Licensee had an age declaration card file in the premises on December 7, 2012, but it did 

not contain a declaration for the woman described above (N.T. 30-32). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Licensee violated §493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1), on December 7, 2012, by 

selling alcoholic beverages to one minor, seventeen years of age. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since January 10, 2003, and has had prior violations as follows: 

In re Citation No. 06-1037.  $250.00 fine. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant (insufficient seating).  March 20, 2006. 

 

In re Citation No. 09-2266C.  $1,250.00 fine and R.A.M.P. – certification mandated. 

1. Sales to a minor.  August 20, 2009.             

 

PENALTY: 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension 

or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of this type. 
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ORDER 

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 700 SE, Inc., License No. R-SS-228, 

shall pay a fine of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) within 20 days of the mailing date 

of this order.  In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be suspended 

or revoked.  Jurisdiction is retained. 

Dated this       4TH            day of        September                , 2013. 

 

  

 

 
  David L. Shenkle, J. 

jb 

 

 

NOTICE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.   

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY 

APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS 

AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.    

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454. 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment; Note Citation Number on Check 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or a check drawn on the account of an 

attorney licensed in Pennsylvania.  Personal and business checks are not acceptable unless bank 

certified.  Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and 

mail it, along with any required documentation, to: 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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