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O P I N I O N 

 Yanscan Enterprises, LLC, trading as Cocktales (“Licensee”), appeals 

from the Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge Daniel T. 

Flaherty, Jr. (“ALJ”), mailed July 25, 2013, wherein the ALJ sustained three (3) 

of the six (6) counts set forth in Citation No. 13-00131 (“the Citation”) and 

imposed a total fine of eight hundred dollars ($800.00). 

                                                 
1 Counts 4, 5, and 6 of the Citation were withdrawn by Counsel for the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 
prior to the ALJ’s decision.  The Board will not reiterate those counts in this Opinion, since their withdrawal is 
not the subject of this, or any, appeal. 
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 On February 6, 2013, the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor 

Control Enforcement (“Bureau”) issued the Citation to Licensee, charging it 

with six (6) counts.  The first count charged Licensee with violating section 471 

of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471] and section 5513 of the Crimes Code [18 Pa. 

C.S. § 5513] in that on June 27, September 16, and October 3, 2012, Licensee, by 

its servants, agents, or employees, possessed or operated gambling devices or 

paraphernalia or permitted gambling or lotteries, poolselling, and/or 

bookmaking on the licensed premises.  The second count charged Licensee 

with violating section 499 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-499] in that on 

September 16, 2012, Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees, failed to 

require patrons to vacate that part of the premises habitually used for the 

service of alcoholic beverages not later than one-half hour after the required 

time for the cessation of the service of alcoholic beverages.  The third count 

charged Licensee with violating section 499 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-

499] in that on September 16, 2012, Licensee, by its servants, agents, or 

employees, permitted patrons to possess and/or remove alcoholic beverages 

from that part of the premises habitually used for the service of alcoholic 

beverages after 2:30 a.m.   

 On June 3, 2013, Licensee submitted an Admission, Waiver and 

Authorization (“Waiver”) to the Office of the Administrative Law Judge 
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(“OALJ”), in which Licensee admitted to the violations charged in the Citation 

and waived its right to appeal the adjudication.  The Waiver was signed by 

Anthony Yantorn, Licensee’s owner, on June 3, 2013.  The Waiver included a 

handwritten notation, presumably written by Mr. Yantorn, which states, “Can 

we close 6/30, 7/1, 7/2?”  By Adjudication and Order mailed July 25, 2013, the ALJ 

sustained the three (3) remaining counts, although counts two and three were 

merged for purposes of imposing a penalty.  For count one, the ALJ assessed a 

penalty of five hundred fifty dollars ($550.00), and for counts two and three, 

the ALJ assessed a penalty of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).  Licensee 

filed the instant appeal to the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“Board”) on 

August 23, 2013. 

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code, the appeal in this case must 

be based solely on the record before the ALJ.  The Board may only reverse the 

decision of the ALJ if the ALJ committed an error of law or abused his 

discretion, or if his decision was not based upon substantial evidence.  [47 P.S. 

§ 4-471(b)].  The Commonwealth Court has defined “substantial evidence” to 

be such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as adequate to 

support a conclusion.  Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Bd. 

(Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of 

Probation and Parole, 484 A.2d   413 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1984).  Furthermore, the 
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Pennsylvania Supreme Court has defined an abuse of discretion as “not merely 

an error of judgment, but if in reaching a conclusion the law is overridden or 

misapplied or the judgment exercised is manifestly unreasonable, or the result 

of partiality, prejudice, bias, or ill-will, as shown by the evidence or the record, 

discretion is abused.”  Hainsey v. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Bd., 529 Pa. 286, 

297, 602 A.2d 1300, 1305 (1992) (citations omitted). 

On appeal, Licensee asserts that Craig Strong, counsel for the Bureau, 

offered to withdraw three (3) of the six (6) counts, and “have us fined zero 

dollars but have to close the bar 2-3 days.  For that reason we signed the guilty 

plea and sent it in.  We then received a ruling and fine in the mail stating we 

were being fined $800??”  Licensee contacted the ALJ’s office, which advised 

Licensee that it did not receive information from Attorney Strong’s office on 

the “deal we had worked out” and the only thing Licensee could do was file an 

appeal.2   

Licensee has not set forth any basis for reversing the ALJ’s decision.  

Although Licensee’s appeal disputes some of the facts, Licensee admits that 

                                                 
2 The Board is aware that it has only Licensee’s statements regarding the agreement between Licensee and the 
Bureau, and that Mr. Strong might offer a different version of the facts, although he failed to offer any in his 
answer to this appeal.  Nonetheless, to avoid problems like this in the future, the Board recommends that any 
communications between the Bureau and a licensee regarding agreements relating to the case should be in 
writing and forwarded to the administrative law judge as soon as an agreement is reached.  Any such 
communication should include the caveat that, in accordance with the Liquor Code, the administrative law 
judge is free to impose a penalty of his or her own choosing and is in no way bound by the terms of any 
agreement between the parties. 
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the licensed premises houses an electronic gambling device, stating that “we 

never did pay out once even on the machine we had in, the original affadavit 

[sic] … said a fruit machine not the dodge city which we had in the bar.  We 

never had a fruit machine in the bar.”  But Licensee’s primary objection to the 

ALJ’s decision is that a fine was imposed instead of a suspension:  “[I]f we can 

again get a 2-3 day closure we will take it, if not we wish to retract our guilty 

plea.”3 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code addresses fines and suspensions, as well 

as the revocation of licenses.  [47 P.S. § 4-471].  If the administrative law judge is 

satisfied that a licensee has violated a provision of the Liquor Code, he “may 

suspend or revoke the license, or impose a fine of not less than fifty dollars 

($50) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.”  The imposition of 

penalties is the exclusive prerogative of the administrative law judge.  The 

Board may not disturb penalties imposed by an administrative law judge if they 

are within the parameters set forth in section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 

4-471].    Since the fines of five hundred fifty dollars ($550.00) and two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250.00) are well within the range set forth in the statute, the 

Board will not alter such penalties.  [Id.].  The Liquor Code clearly bestows this 

                                                 
3 Neither the Liquor Code nor the Board’s Regulations provide any mechanism for withdrawing a waiver after 
the administrative law judge renders his/her decision.  It is noted that Licensee did not file a request for 
reconsideration of the decision and it must be emphasized that Licensee admitted the violation and specifically 
waived the right to appeal the Adjudication by signing the Waiver.  
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authority on the administrative law judge, and the Board may not reverse the 

decision of the administrative law judge unless “the administrative law judge 

committed an error of law, abused its discretion or if its decision is not based 

on substantial evidence.”  [Id.].  Licensee’s dissatisfaction with the issuance of 

a fine instead of a suspension is not a basis for overturning the ALJ’s decision. 

For the foregoing reasons, the Adjudication and Order of the ALJ is 

affirmed. 
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ORDER 

 The appeal of Licensee is denied. 

The ALJ’s decision is affirmed. 

 The original fine of eight hundred fifty dollars ($800.00) remains unpaid.  

It is hereby ordered that Licensee shall pay a fine of eight hundred dollars 

($800.00) within twenty (20) days of the mailing date of this Order.  Failure to 

pay the fine within twenty (20) days of the mailing date of this Order will result 

in a license suspension and/or revocation.  

   

 
 

___________________________________ 
Board Secretary 


