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PLCB LICENSE NO. R-AP-SS-13013 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BEFORE JUDGE FLAHERTY 

BUREAU COUNSEL PIETRZAK 

LICENSEE: EVAN C. PAPPAS, ESQUIRE 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on April 11, 2013, by the Bureau 

of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

JOSHUA RYAN, INC., License Number R-AP-SS-13013 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on February 8, 2013, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

visibly intoxicated patron. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on November 29, 2012 and was 

completed on February 13, 2013; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on February 26, 2013.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on January 14, 2014 in the Lysock 

Complex, Suite 2, 542 County Farm Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. On February 8, 2013, two officers of the Bureau entered the licensed premises at 

approximately 11:00 p.m. (N.T. 12-13). 

 

 2. The officers observed three bartenders in the main bar area rendering service to 

between 80-100 people (N.T. 13-14). 

 

 3. At 11:40 p.m. the attention of one of the officers was drawn to a female patron 

who was entering into the bar area with a male companion thought to be her husband.  She was 

staggering.  Her face was red.  Her eyes were bloodshot and she was flailing her arms.  Her 

mouth was dropped open, as though it were locked open.  She walked leaning over and was 

being held up by her male companion (N.T. 15-16). 

 

 4. Upon reaching the bartender, the male companion of the aforementioned female 

patron ordered two drinks.  The bartender poured Pioneer vodka into two plastic cups and then 

put orange juice into each cup (N.T. 17-18).  Once the bartender had made the drinks, he set 

them both on the bar counter in front of each of the patrons.  The male patron paid for both 

drinks (N.T. 18).  The female patron and her male companion each picked up one of the drinks 

(N.T. 19). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

  The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

  The record clearly indicates that an alcoholic beverage containing vodka and orange 

juice was placed in front of a female patron who clearly exhibited signs of intoxication.  The 

record further reflects that she picked up the drink.  Cleary, the alcoholic beverage was furnished 

or given to the female patron who was very clearly visibly intoxicated.  Consequently, I conclude 

that the charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since October 25, 2011, and has had no prior violations.  

Licensee is, therefore, entitled to be treated as a first time offender. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case.   
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That Section further provides for mandatory compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 

[47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management when, as in this matter, 

Licensee has been found to have violated Section 493(1) as a first offense as it relates to sales to 

minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated patron.  However, if at the time of the violation, the 

licensee was in compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. §4-471.1], relating to 

Responsible Alcohol Management and the licensee had not sold to a visibly intoxicated person in 

the previous four years, Liquor Code Section 471(b) [47 P.S. §4-471(b)] provides for a fine 

structure of $50.00 to $1,000.00. 

 

This office takes notice that Licensee became RAMP certified on January 23, 2012 and 

recertified on January 23, 2014. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $750.00 and 

Licensee must remain RAMP compliant. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee JOSHUA RYAN, INC., pay a fine 

of $750.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine 

is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the mailing date of 

the Order. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    25TH      day of March, 2014. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 
 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 



JOSHUA RYAN, INC. 

IN RE: CITATION NO.  13-0727  PAGE 4 

 

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  

 

Detach here and submit stub with payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by a check drawn on the business or trust account of your attorney, who 

must be licensed in this Commonwealth, a treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, or money order.  Personal 

and business checks are not acceptable unless they are certified by your bank.  Please make your 

guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail, along with any required 

documentation (please use the Return Stub when mailing payment or write your citation number on the 

check) to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg  PA  17110-9661 
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