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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

 

BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  Craig A. Strong, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Laura Tomasovitch, Corporate Officer and Stockholder 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued on May 8, 

2013, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) 

against Jo-Lat, Inc. (Licensee). 

 

The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(34) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(34)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, used, or 

permitted to be used on the inside of your licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device 

whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard 

beyond the licensee’s property line, on March 23, 2013. 



 

Jo-Lat, Inc.  

In Re Citation No.:  13-0969  Page 2 of 5 

 

 

 

 I presided at an evidentiary hearing on January 9, 2014 at 100 Lackawanna Avenue, 

Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau began its investigation on March 18, 2013 and completed it on April 

7, 2013.  (N.T. 11) 

 

 2. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on April 16, 2013.  The notice alleged the 

violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 10) 

 

 3. On March 23, 2013, at 11:25 p.m., a Bureau Enforcement Officer arrived at the 

licensed premises and heard amplified music escaping the premises as far away as 234 feet.  

(N.T. 13) 

 

 

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. I sustain the violation as charged.  

 

 

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since July 10, 2000, and has the following Adjudication 

history:    

 

In Re Citation No.:  03-1518.  Fine $50.00. 

 Failed to display on the licensed premises documentary 

 evidence that the premises meets all sanitary requirements 

 for a public eating place on August 12, 2003. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  05-0416.  Fine $350.00. 

 Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted 

 gambling on the licensed premises (tickets) on February 5, 

 2005. 
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In Re Citation No.:  10-1240.  Fine $75.00. 

 Sold alcoholic beverages on credit in contravention of the 

 Liquor Code and Title 40 of the Pennsylvania Code on May 

 2, 22 and 25, 2010. 

 

  In Re Citation No.:  10-2315.  Fine $1,400.00. 

1. Sales on Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. on 

September 5, 2010. 

2. Sales between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. on September 

25, 2010. 

3. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later 

than one-half hour after the required time on September 

5 and 25, 2010. 

4. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic 

beverages after 2:30 a.m. on September 5 and 25, 2010. 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 
Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for the violation 

found herein. 

 
Discretionary Component(s) 

 

 I adopt the Bureau’s recommended penalty of a $250.00 fine. 

 

ORDER: 

 
Imposition of Fine  

 

 Licensee must pay a $250.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Jo-Lat, Inc.  

In Re Citation No.:  13-0969  Page 4 of 5 

 

 

 
Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

 

Dated this        12TH      day of February, 2014. 

  

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

bc 

 

 

 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  If you have not already done so, it may be 

prudent for you to consult with an attorney.   

 

 

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 
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Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 The fine must be paid by a check drawn on the business or trust account of your attorney, 

who must be licensed in this Commonwealth, a treasurer’s check, cashier’s check, or money 

order. Personal and business checks are not acceptable unless they are certified by your 

bank. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and 

mail, along with any required documentation (please use the Return Stub when mailing payment 

or write your citation number on the check). 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 
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