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PLCB LICENSE NO. R-SS-20647 

 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BEFORE JUDGE FLAHERTY 

BUREAU COUNSEL PIETRZAK 

LICENSEE: ELIZABETH A. PICARELLA, PRO SE 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on July 11, 2013, by the Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) against 

ELIZABETH A. PICARELLA, License Number  R-SS-20647 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

  The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on May 31, 2013, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

minor, eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on May 31, 2013 and was 

completed on June 4, 2013; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified Mail on 

June 12, 2013.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on July 16, 2014 at The Lysock Complex, 

542 County Farm Road, Montoursville, Pennsylvania. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

  1. This citation arose out of an Age Compliance Check conducted at the licensed 

premises on May 31, 2013 (N.T. 11-12). 

 

 2. On May 31, 2013 at 9:05 p.m., an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed 

premises, together with a second officer of the Bureau.  Upon entry the officers observed one 

patron at the counter (N.T. 13). 

 

 3. The officers determined that it was safe for the underage buyer to enter the 

licensed premises, and they observed the underage buyer enter (N.T. 13). 

 

 4. The underage buyer, whose date of birth was August 17, 1994, and, who was 18 

years old on May 31, 2013, entered the licensed premises.  He walked over to the “to go” 

counter, obtained a six pack of Miller Lite beer in 12-ounce bottles and took it to the counter 

(N.T. 25). 

 

 5. The Licensee, Mrs. Picarella, was behind the register.  She questioned the age of 

the underage buyer, but never asked for identification.  The underage buyer told her he was 21 

years of age, but never produced actual identification (N.T. 25). 

 

 6. The underage buyer paid for the beer.  He gave Mrs. Picarella $10.00 in U.S. 

currency and received $2.50 in change (N.T. 25-26). 

 

 7. After paying for the six-pack of beer, the underage buyer took the six-pack along 

with the change and went outside to the officers, who were part of the Age Compliance Check 

team (N.T. 26). 

 

 8. The customary hours for the licensed premises are from 3:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. 

(N.T. 32). 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

 The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

 The record establishes that an Age Compliance Check was conducted at the licensed 

premises on May 31, 2013 beginning at 9:05 p.m.  An underage buyer entered the licensed 

premises and purchased a six-pack of beer.  He was challenged as to his age, but never provided 

identification.  He was served by the Licensee on the basis of his representation that he was 21 

years old. 
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 Licensee argues that a violation cannot be found in this case due to the fact that the Age 

Compliance Check began at 9:05 p.m., which was five minutes after their normal closing time.  

Licensee bases her argument upon Subsection (d) of Section 23.22(d) of the Regulations [47 Pa. 

Code §23.22(d)].  This Subsection of the Regulations states as follows: 

 

(d)  The Age Compliance check shall be conducted at the licensed 

premises during regular business hours. 

 

 Licensee argues that since her regular business hours are from 3:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m., 

the Bureau of Enforcement was not authorized to conduct this Compliance Check after that time.  

I disagree.  The “regular business hours” as indicated above are, in my opinion, not the business 

hours of the Licensee, but the regular business hours for liquor licensees, which in this case, 

since Licensee is a restaurant liquor licensee, from 7:00 a.m. until 2:00 a.m. the next morning.   

Moreover, Licensee was conducting business at 9:05 a.m. when it sold to the minor; its posted 

“business hours,” notwithstanding. 

 

 Based on the foregoing, I conclude that the operation conducted by the Bureau of 

Enforcement, in this case was an authorized Age Compliance Check, and the charge in the 

citation must be sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since May 10, 1983, and has had one prior violation(s) since 

July 1, 1987, the date of establishment of the Office of Administrative Law Judge: 

 

IN RE: 

 

Citation No.  93-1019.  Fine $50.00. 

1. Permitted a minor under 18 years of age to render 

service in connection with the service or delivery of 

alcoholic beverages. 

 2. Employed a minor under 16 years of age. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

That Section further provides for mandatory compliance with Liquor Code Section 471.1 

[47 P.S. §4-471.1], pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management when, as in this matter, 

Licensee has been found to have violated Section 493(1) as a first offense as it relates to sales to 

minors or sales to a visibly intoxicated patron. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be a fine of $1,250.00 

and mandatory RAMP training. 
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ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee ELIZABETH A. PICARELLA, pay a 

fine of $1,250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the 

aforementioned fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s 

license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee is directed to initiate contact with The Bureau of Alcohol Education, 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (Toll Free Telephone No.: 1-866-275-8237; Web Site: 

www.lcb.state.pa.us;  Email Address: LBEducation@state.pa.us) within 30 days of the mailing 

date of this Adjudication.  Licensee must receive Certification within 90 days of the mailing date 

of this Adjudication.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date 

such Certification is issued.   

 

 Failure to comply with this Order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.  

Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by 

Section 471(d) of the liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471(d)]. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    8TH      day of December, 2014. 

 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 

MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY 

ARE IN WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, 

ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 
JUDGE’S ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE 

AT 717-783-9454.  

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/
mailto:LBEducation@state.pa.us
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order or a check drawn on the business or trust 

account of an attorney licensed in Pennsylvania.  Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable 

unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg PA  17110-9661 

 

IN RE: CITATION NO. 13-1362 

ELIZABETH A. PICARELLA 

 

 

Credit/debit cards may be used:  visit www.lcb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then 

click on Office of ALJ for instructions.. 

 

 

 

http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/

