Mailing Date: DEC 05 2014

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE
PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE, : In Re Citation No.: 13-1622C
BUREAU OF LIQUOR CONTROL :
ENFORCEMENT (BLCE)
BLCE Incident No.: W03-464744
V.
DOWN TOWN LOUNGE, INC. : PLCB LID No.: 43612
T/A DOWN TOWN LOUNGE :
734 CUMBERLAND ST. :
LEBANON, PA 17042-5234 : PLCB License No.: R-AP-SS-9616

LEBANON COUNTY
ADJUDICATION
BEFORE: Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge

FOR BLCE: John H. Pietrzak, Esquire

LICENSEE: Edward T. Riley, Director, Secretary, and Stockholder

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued on August
15, 2013, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police
(Bureau) against Down Town Lounge, Inc. (Licensee).

The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-493(1)]. The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, sold,
furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one
(1) minor, twenty (20) years of age, on July 20, 2013.
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| presided at an evidentiary hearing on October 14, 2014 at 2221 Paxton Church Road,
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Therefore, |1 make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on July 20, 2013 and completed it on July 22,
2013. (N.T. 8-9)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed
premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on July 29, 2013. The notice alleged the
violation as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 6-7)

3. The Enforcement Officers involved and the underage buyer were trained in the
Age Compliance Program. (N.T.9-13)

4. Pursuant to the Bureau’s Age Compliance Program, on July 20, 2013, an
underage buyer (20 years old) purchased a beer after being challenged as to age and showing
authentic and valid identification. (N.T. 30-36)

5. Immediately after the service the underage buyer left. An Enforcement Officer

entered the premises to provide Licensee a verbal description of the transaction which was
followed-up by a mailed, written notice. (N.T. 42-47)

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §84-471] have been
satisfied.

2. The Bureau complied with the requirements of the Age Compliance Program [18
Pa. C.S.A. 86308(e) and 6310(c); 37 Pa. Code, Chapter 23].

3. I sustain the violation as charged.
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PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY:

Licensee has been licensed since January 26, 1999, and has the following Adjudication
history:

In Re Citation No.: 01-0079. Fine $250.00.
1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later
than one-half hour after the required time on December
23, 2000.
2. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic
beverages after 2:30 a.m. on December 23, 2000.

In Re Citation No.: 09-1527. Fine $500.00.
Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted
gambling on the licensed premises (sports pool and tickets)
on February 28, March 17, and April 6, 2009.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA:

Mandatory Requirement(s)

Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or
revocation, or a fine of not less than $1,000.00, or more than $5,000.00, or both for the violation
found herein.

Further, Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. 84-471.1], relating to responsible alcohol
management, mandates that Licensee participate in the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board’s
Responsible Alcohol Management Program (RAMP), since this is Licensee’s first violation as
herein found.

Discretionary Component(s)

| impose a $1,250.00 fine.
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ORDER:
Imposition of Fine

Licensee must pay a $1,250.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this
Adjudication. The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner. If
Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that | suspend or revoke the license.

Mandatory RAMP Compliance

| order Licensee to comply with Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to responsible
alcohol management, for one year from the date of Bureau of Alcohol Education (BAE)
certification.

Requirement to Contact the BAE of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board

Licensee must contact the BAE, Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board: toll free telephone
No.: 1-866-275-8237; web site: www.lcb@pa.gov; email address: LBEducation@pa.gov within
thirty days of the mailing date of this Adjudication to effect full RAMP compliance. Licensee
has ninety days from the mailing date of this Adjudication to be fully certified by the BAE.

Consequence of Noncompliance with Mandatory RAMP
Failure to comply may cause the Bureau to issue a citation alleging Licensee’s

noncompliance. Alternatively, the Bureau may request a modification of the penalty imposed in
this Adjudication.

Retaining Jurisdiction

| retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.

Dated this _ 19™ day of November, 2014.

Tl Hwr

Felix Thau, A.L.J.

bc
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General Information

This Adjudication is a legal document. It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.
The information which follows is a general guide. If you have not already done so, it may be
prudent for you to consult with an attorney.

Applying for Reconsideration

If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must
submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee. Both must be received by the
Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine
Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this
Adjudication’s mailing date. Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.
The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code 835.241.

Appeal Rights

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the
mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454). For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us. The
full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. 84-471.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment — Note Citation Number on Check
The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or an attorney’s check who is
licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable
unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to:

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661

Credit/debit cards may be used: visit www.lcb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then
click on Office of ALJ for instructions..
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