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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  Craig A. Strong, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Ex Parte 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing two counts, that was issued on 

December 20, 2013, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State 

Police (Bureau) against Jo-Lat, Inc. (Licensee). 

 

The first count charges Licensee with violations of Section 493(34) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-493(34)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, used, 

or permitted to be used on the inside of your licensed premises, a loudspeaker or similar device 

whereby the sound of music or other entertainment, or the advertisement thereof, could be heard 

beyond the licensee’s property line, on October 23, 27 and November 2, 2013. 
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The second count charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(26) of the Liquor 

Code [47 P.S. §4-493(26)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, 

issued checks or drafts in payment for purchases of malt or brewed beverages, when you had 

insufficient funds in, or credit with, the institution upon which drawn for the payment of such 

checks, dated September 24, 2013. 

 

 I presided at an evidentiary hearing on June 5, 2014 at 100 Lackawanna Avenue, 

Scranton, Pennsylvania.  

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Office of Administrative Law Judge sent a notice of hearing to Licensee at 

the address of record on May 1, 2014, by certified mail, return receipt requested and first class 

mail.  The certified mail notice was returned unclaimed.  The first class notice was not returned.  

(N.T. 4)   

 

2. The Bureau began its investigation on September 24, 2013 and completed it on 

November 6, 2013.  (N.T. 6) 

 

 3. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on November 13, 2013.  The notice was 

subsequently sent out by first class mail on December 16, 2013.  The notice alleged the 

violations as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 7) 

 

Count No. 1 

 

 4. On the three dates charged, Licensee permitted amplified music to be heard 

beyond the premises property line. (N.T. 14-27) 

 

Count No. 2 

 

 5. Licensee issued two checks for purchasing beer from an importing distributor.  

The checks were dishonored due to insufficient funds.  (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, C-3 

through C-5, N.T. 11-14) 
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CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

 2. I sustain the violations as charged.  

 

 

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since July 10, 2000, and has the following Adjudication 

history: 

 

In Re Citation No.:  03-1518.  Fine $50.00. 

 Failed to display on the licensed premises documentary 

 evidence that the premises meets all sanitary requirements 

 for a public eating place on August 12, 2003. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  05-0416.  Fine $350.00. 

 Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted 

 gambling on the licensed premises (tickets) on February 5, 

 2005. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  10-1240.  Fine $75.00. 

 Sold alcoholic beverages on credit in contravention of the 

 Liquor Code and Title 40 of the Pennsylvania Code on May 

 2, 22 and 25, 2010. 

 

  In Re Citation No.:  10-2315.  Fine $1,400.00. 

1. Sales on Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. on 

September 5, 2010. 

2. Sales between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. on September 

25, 2010. 

3. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later 

than one-half hour after the required time on September 

5 and 25, 2010. 

4. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic 

beverages after 2:30 a.m. on September 5 and 25, 2010. 
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In Re Citation No.:  13-0969.  Fine $250.00. 

Used loudspeakers or devices whereby the sound of music 

could be heard beyond the licensee’s property line on 

March 23, 2013. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  13-1430.  Fine $300.00. 

Used loudspeakers or devices whereby the sound of music 

could be heard beyond the licensee’s property line on June 

7, 8, 21 and 22, 2013. 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 
Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for the violations 

found herein. 

 
Discretionary Component(s) 

 

As Licensee has failed to appear without communicating a reason, I impose: 

 

  Count No. 1 - $1,000.00 fine. 

 

Count No. 2 - $1,000.00 fine and a fifteen days Amusement 

          Permit suspension. 

 

 

ORDER: 

 
Imposition of Fine  

 

 Licensee must pay a $2,000.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  
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Imposition of Amusement Permit Suspension    

 

 I suspend the Amusement Permit for fifteen days, beginning Friday, September 5, 2014, 

7:00 a.m., and ending Saturday, September 20, 2014, 7:00 a.m.  Licensee must place the 

enclosed label over the Amusement Permit portion of the license prior to the suspension’s 

effective date and time.  Licensee must keep the label on the license as above described, for the 

entire fifteen days suspension.  Licensee may remove the label after the suspension ends.   

 
Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

 

Dated this      15th         day of July, 2014. 

 
Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

bc 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  If you have not already done so, it may be 

prudent for you to consult with an attorney.   

 

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 
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Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

       ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or a check drawn on the business 

or trust account of an attorney licensed in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are 

NOT acceptable unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the 

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB – Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/debit cards may be used:  visit www.lcb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then 

click on Office of ALJ for instructions.. 
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