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ADJUDICATION 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on January 21, 2014, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against Fluellen, Inc., License Number R-AP-SS-7746 (hereinafter “Licensee”). 
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An Administrative hearing was held on Tuesday, July 16, 2014, pursuant to requisite and 

appropriate hearing notice.  Despite notice of the hearing having been sent to the Licensee, the 

Licensee failed to appear. Therefore, the hearing proceeded ex parte. 

 

At the close of hearing, the Court received a faxed Waiver from the Licensee. In that 

testimony was already taken, the Court did not accept the Waiver and instead bases the 

Adjudication on the evidence presented at the hearing. 

 

 The citation charges Licensee with violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16), in that during the period 

November 1 through December 2, 2013, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employes, sold 

alcoholic beverages after the Restaurant Liquor License expired on October 31, 2013 and had not 

been renewed and/or validated. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Bureau conducted an investigation of the licensed premises which began on 

December 4, 2013 and ended on December 8, 2013.  A notice of violation letter dated December 

23, 2013 was sent to the licensed premises by certified mail, return receipt requested. That 

mailing was returned unclaimed.  A citation dated January 21, 2014 was sent to the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested. That mailing was returned to the sender. The 

citation was then sent by first class mail to the Licensee on March 15, 2014. The Office of 

Administrative Law Judge sent a citation hearing notice to the licensed premises on May 28, 

2014 by certified mail, return receipt requested, and by first class mail (N.T. 9-13 and Exhibits 

B-1 and B-2). 

 

2. An officer from the Bureau, who has been employed with the Bureau for 

approximately three years, conducted an investigation of the licensed premises after receiving 

notice from the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board that the license had expired. According to 

information from records from the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board, the license had expired 

on October 31, 2013 and had not been renewed. The officer verified that temporary authority to 

operate had not been approved (N.T. 6-7). 

 

3. On Monday, December 2, 2013, the officer contacted the Liquor Control Board and 

reviewed the file and then arrived at the licensed premises at approximately 1:30 p.m. The 

premises was open and operating. There were five patrons sitting at the bar and there were many 

drinks in front of them (N.T. 6-7). 

 

4. The officer noted an African American female tending bar. The officer ordered a 

twelve ounce can of Coors Light beer. The bartender retrieved the twelve ounce can of Coors 

Light beer from a cooler behind the bar and placed it in front of the officer. The bartender 

charged the officer $2.50 for the beer. The officer handed her five dollars, she rang the sale into 

the cash register and returned with $2.50 in change (N.T. 7-8). 
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5. After the transaction was completed, the officer immediately identified himself and 

asked to speak to the manager. The bartender called the manager on her cell phone. Several 

minutes later, the Board approved manager, Julie Fluellen, arrived. Ms. Fluellen indicated she 

knew the license had expired and tried to obtain temporary authority to operate. The officer 

advised her that until she received it, she needed to cease all sales of alcoholic beverages. The 

officer took a written statement (N.T. 8). 

 

6. The officer advised Ms. Fluellen that because she had an R-License, she could 

continue to serve food, but could not sell alcoholic beverages (N.T. 8). 

 

7. An attestation from the Bureau indicates that the premises license expired on October 

31, 2013 and had not been validated as of December 2, 2013 (N.T. 12-13 and Exhibit B-3). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

All statutory prerequisites for notice to the Licensee were satisfied. 

 

 During the period November 1 through December 2, 2013, Licensee, by its servants, 

agents or employes, sold alcoholic beverages after the Restaurant Liquor License expired on 

October 31, 2013 and had not been renewed and/or validated, in violation of Sections 491(1), 

492(2) and 493(16) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16).   

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

Licensee has been licensed since May 4, 1994, and has a record of prior violations as 

follows: 

 

In Re: 

Citation No. 95-2998.  $600.00 fine and Verification conditions 

corrected. Verification not received and license suspended for a 

period of one day and thereafter until Verification received. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant in that they failed to provide 

food upon request. 

2. Sales after the Restaurant Liquor License had expired and 

had not been renewed.  (Dismissed by A.L.J.) 

3. Operated without a valid health permit. 

 

Citation No. 96-1833.  $300.00 fine. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant in that food items were 

insufficient. 
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Citation No. 96-2557.  $100.00 fine and one day suspension and 

thereafter until conditions corrected. 

1. Not a bona fide restaurant in that they failed to provide 

food upon request. 

2. Failed to keep records on the licensed premises. 

 

Citation No. 99-1167.  $350.00 fine and one day suspension.  Fine 

not paid and license suspended for a day and thereafter until fine 

paid. 

1. Sold liquor for consumption off premises. 

October 18, December 2, 9, 1998, January 9, February 

20, April 21, May 13 and June 12, 1999. 

 

Citation No. 99-1541.  $250.00 fine, four days suspension and 

thereafter until restitution in the amount of $209.18 paid. 

1. Refilled liquor bottles. 

June 16, 1999. 

2. Unlawfully possessed liquor obtained from a source other 

than a Pennsylvania State Store. 

June 16, 1999. 

 

Citation No. 02-0287.  Four days suspension. 

1. Fortified, adulterated and/or contaminated liquor. 

November 19, 2001. 

 

Citation No. 05-1866. $300.00 fine. 

1. Used loudspeakers or devices whereby the sound of 

music could be heard outside. 

 

Citation No. 13-0026. $1,000.00 fine. 

1. Sales after the license expired and had not been renewed 

and/or validated. 

November 1 through 30, 2012. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

 The license expired on October 31, 2013. The Licensee had no authority to operate after 

that point. Licensee had a similar violation in 2012. Under the circumstances, a $1,500.00 

penalty shall be imposed. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471, prescribes a penalty of suspension 

or revocation of license or imposition of a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than 

$5,000.00, or both, for violations of the type found in this case. 
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 Accordingly, we issue the following 

 

ORDER: 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby Ordered that Licensee, Fluellen, Inc., License Number R-AP-

SS-7746, pay a fine of One Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,500.00) within twenty (20) days 

of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned fine is not paid within twenty 

(20) days from the mailing date of this Order, licensee’s license shall be suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction of this matter is retained. 

 

 

Dated this    14TH         day of         MAY            , 2015. 

 

 

    
         Tania E. Wright, J. 

 

 

 

NOTE:  MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE RECEIVED WITHIN 15 DAYS 

OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

JUDGE AND REQUIRE A $25.00 FILING FEE.  A WRITTEN REQUEST FOR 

RECONSIDERATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE FILING FEE. 

 

If you wish to appeal the decision of the Administrative Law Judge's Order, the 

appeal must be filed within 30 days of the mailing date of the Order. Please contact the 

Office of the Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board at 717-783-9454. 

 

mm 
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

The fine must be paid by Treasurer’s Check, Cashier’s Check, Money Order or a check 

drawn on the business or trust account of an attorney, who must be licensed in Pennsylvania.  

Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable unless they are certified by your bank.  If 

you are paying by guaranteed check, please make it payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail, along with any required documentation, to: 

 

PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/Debit Cards may be used: visit www.lcb.state.pa.us and look under LEGAL/Office of 

ALJ for instructions.  
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