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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE
PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE, : In Re Citation No.: 14-0168
BUREAU OF LIQUOR CONTROL :
ENFORCEMENT (BLCE)
BLCE Incident No.: W02-472282

V.
DENIGHT ENTERPRISES, LLC . PLCB LID No.: 59291 T/A
PARADISE BAR AND GRILLE :
718-720 ALTER ST. :
HAZLETON, PA 18201-3133 : PLCB License No.: R-AP-SS-EHF-4784

LUZERNE COUNTY
ADJUDICATION

BEFORE: Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge
FOR BLCE: Craig A. Strong, Esquire

LICENSEE: Jason Misto, Member

BACKGROUND:

This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued on February 7, 2014,
by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) against
Denight Enterprises, LLC (Licensee).


https://collab.pa.gov/lcb/Extranet/Adjudications%20and%20Appeals/14-0168A.pdf
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The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. 84-493(1)]. The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, sold,
furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one
(1) visibly intoxicated patron, on January 1, 2014.

| presided at an evidentiary hearing on September 16, 2014 at 100 Lackawanna Avenue,
Scranton, Pennsylvania.

Therefore, | make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. The Bureau began its investigation on January 1, 2014 and completed iton January 1, 2014.
(N.T. 8)

2. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed premises by
certified mail, return receipt requested, on January 17, 2014. The notice alleged the violation as
charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 9)

3. On the date charged, an undercover Bureau Enforcement Officer observed a bartender
serve an alcoholic beverage to a visibly intoxicated patron. After entering at 12:50a.m., the Officer
sat at the bar. His attention was drawn to a woman who was being assisted to the bar counter by
two other customers. While at the bar counter, the woman stood but was wobbling. She displayed
slurred speech when asked by another customer if she wanted another drink. Two customers
assisted the woman in sitting on a bar stool. The bartender served the woman a mixed drink. (N.T.
10-17)

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW:

1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] have been satisfied.

2. | sustain the violation as charged.

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY:
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Licensee has been licensed since November 20, 2007, and has the following Adjudication
history:
In Re Citation No.: 10-2605. Fine $250.00.
1. Failed to require patrons to vacate the premises not later
than one-half hour after the required time on October 31,
2010.

2. Permitted patrons to possess or remove alcoholic
beverages after 2:30 a.m. on October 31, 2010.

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA:

Mandatory Requirement(s)

Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. 84-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or
revocation, or a fine of not less than $1,000.00, or more than $5,000.00, or both for the violation
found herein.

Further, Liquor Code Section 471.1 [47 P.S. 84-471.1], relating to responsible alcohol
management, mandates that Licensee participate in the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board’s
Responsible Alcohol Management Program (RAMP), since this is Licensee’s first violation as
herein found.

Discretionary Component(s)

| impose a $1,400.00 fine.

ORDER:

Imposition of Fine

Licensee must pay a $1,400.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this Adjudication.
The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner. If Licensee fails to

comply, the Liquor Code requires that | suspend or revoke the license.

Mandatory RAMP Compliance
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| order Licensee to comply with Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to responsible alcohol
management, for one year from the date of Bureau of Alcohol Education (BAE) certification.

Requirement to Contact the BAE of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board

Licensee must contact the BAE, Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board: toll free telephone No.: 1-
866-275-8237; web site: www.lcb@pa.gov; email address: LBEducation@pa.gov within thirty
days of the mailing date of this Adjudication to effect full RAMP compliance. Licensee has ninety
days from the mailing date of this Adjudication to be fully certified by the BAE.

Consequence of Noncompliance with Mandatory RAMP

Failure to comply may cause the Bureau to issue a citation alleging Licensee’s
noncompliance. Alternatively, the Bureau may request a modification of the penalty imposed in
this Adjudication.

Retaining Jurisdiction

| retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication.

Dated this __ 215" day of October, 2014.

by A

Felix Thau, A.L.J.

bc

General Information

This Adjudication is a legal document. It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.
The information which follows is a general guide. If you have not already done so, it may be
prudent for you to consult with an attorney.
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Applying for Reconsideration

If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must submit a
written applicationand a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee. Both must be received by the Office of
Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this
Adjudication’s mailing date. Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration. The
full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241.

Appeal Rights

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the
mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454). For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us. The
full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. 84-471.

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or an attorney’s check who is
licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable
unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to:

PLCB — Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661

Credit/debit cards may be used: visit www.Icb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then
click on Office of ALJ for instructions..
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