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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE :In re Citation No. 14-0590

POLICE, BUREAU OF :

LIQUOR CONTROL ENFORCEMENT :  BLCE Incident No. W01-474947
V. . PLCB LID No. 62159

1937 D&J, INC. . PLCB License No. D-SS-1250

1941 W. MACDADE BLVD. :

WOODLYN, PA 19094-2004 :  Delaware County

JUDGE SHENKLE
BLCE COUNSEL.: Erik S. Shmukler, Esq.
LICENSEE COUNSEL: John J. McCreesh, Ill, Esq.

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on April 1, 2014. The citation alleges that Licensee violated the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-
493(1), on March 1, 2014, by selling, furnishing, and/or giving or permitting such sale, furnishing
or giving of alcoholic beverages to one minor, eighteen years of age.

A hearing was held on August 5, 2014, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania. The parties
stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On March 1, 2014, liquor enforcement officers visited the licensed premises at 8:20 p.m.
Several minutes later they saw a car pull up with two youthful men in it. One of them entered the
licensed premises and attempted to purchase alcoholic beverages, but one of Licensee’s officers
requested proof of age, and refused to complete the sale (N.T. 26-27).

2. At about 9:00 p.m. another vehicle with three youthful people in it pulled up to the
premises. A man got out of the front passenger seat and entered the licensed premises. After he
was inside for a few minutes, the car in which he had arrived backed up, “burned out,” and
carelessly left the parking lot, leaving the passenger inside. A minute or two later the passenger
came out of the premises with two 30-packs of beer. He was standing in the parking lot when an
enforcement officer requested identification. The man admitted that his birth date was June 19,
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1995, and that his age had not been questioned. He had made many previous purchases in the
premises (N.T. 28-29, 34-36).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charges.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since October 8, 2009, and has had no prior violations.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension
or revocation or a fine in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range, or both, for violations of the type found
in this case. Mandatory R.A.M.P. — certification is required by 47 P.S. 84-471(d) in these
circumstances.

ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 1937 D&J, Inc., License No. D-SS-
1250, shall pay a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) within 20 days of the mailing date of this
order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be suspended or
revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth in
Liquor Code Section 471.1, pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following
manner. The Licensee is directed to contact the Bureau of Alcohol Education, Pennsylvania Liquor
Control Board (toll free telephone: 1-866-275-8237; www.Icb.state.pa.us) within thirty (30) days of
the mailing date of this adjudication in order to receive assistance in the compliance process.
Licensee must receive certification within ninety (90) days of the mailing date of this adjudication.
Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the date such certification is
issued. The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement is further directed to monitor compliance with
this adjudication.

Failure to comply with this order will be grounds for modification of penalty in this case.
Failure to comply may also constitute grounds for issuance of a new citation as authorized by
Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. Section 4-471(d).

Dated this __ 17™ day of September , 2014,

(O

David L. Shenkle, J.
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NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY
APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment — Note Citation Number on Check
The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or a check drawn on the business or trust
account of an attorney licensed in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT
acceptable unless bank certified. If you are paying by guaranteed check, please make it payable
to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation, to:

PLCB — Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Credit/debit cards may be used: visit www.lcb.state.pa.us
and look under LEGAL/Office of ALJ for instructions.
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