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OPINION

Di's Guys Corp. t/a J.R.’s Rathskellers (“Licensee”) appeals from

the Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ")

Roderick Frisk mailed June 23, 2014, wherein the ALJ sustained

Citation No. 14-0601 and imposed a fine of two thousand dollars

($2,000.00).



On April 21, 2014, the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of
Liquor Control Enforcement ("Bureau”) issued the Citation to Licensee,
charging it with four (4) counts. The first count charged Licensee with
violating subsections 406(a)(2) and 493(16) of the Liquor Code [47
P.S. §§ 4-406(a)(2), 4-493(16)] in that on October 19, 2013,
Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees, sold, furnished,
and/or gave alcoholic beverages between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.
The second count charged Licensee with violating subsections
406(a)(3) and 493(16) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§ 4-406(a)(3), 4-
493(16)] in that on November 24, 2013, Licensee, by its servants,
agents, or employees, sold, furnished, and/or gave alcoholic
beverages on Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. The third
count charged Licensee with violating subsection 499(a) of the Liquor
Code [47 P.S. § 4-499(a)] in that on October 19 and November 24,
2013, Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees, failed to require
patrons to vacate the part of the premises habitually used for the
service of alcoholic beverages not later than one-half hour after the
required time for the cessation of the service of alcoholic beverages.
The fourth count charged Licensee with additional violations of
subsection 499(a) in that on October 19 and November 24, 2013,

Licensee, by its servants, agents, or employees, permitted patrons to



possess and/or remove alcoholic beverages from the part of the
premises habitually used for the service of alcoholic beverages after
2:30 a.m.

Licensee submitted an Admission, Waiver, and Authorization
(“"Waiver”) form to the Office of Administrative Law Judge (*OALJ”) on
or about May 13, 2014, admitting the charges and, inter alia, waiving
the right to a hearing and to appeal the ALJ's decision. By
Adjudication and Order mailed June 23, 2014, the ALJ sustained the
four (4) charges and imposed an aggregate fine of two thousand
dollars ($2,000.00).! Licensee filed a timely appeal and an application
for supersedeas with the Board on July 18, 2014.

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code, the appeal in this
case must be based solely on the record before the ALJ. The Board
may only reverse the decision if the AL] committed an error of law or
abuse of discretion, or if his decision was not based upon substantial
evidence. [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)]. The Commonwealth Court has
defined “substantial evidence” to be such relevant evidence as a
reasonable person might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.

Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’” Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876

1 Counts one and two were merged for penalty assessment purposes, as were counts three
and four; the ALJ assessed merged penalties of one thousand six hundred dollars
($1,600.00) and four hundred dollars ($400.00), respectively.



A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of

Probation and Parole, 484 A.2d 413 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1984).

Furthermore, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has defined an abuse of
discretion as “not merely an error of judgment, but if in reaching a
conclusion the law is overridden or misapplied or the judgment
exercised is manifestly unreasonable, or the result of partiality,
prejudice, bias, or ill-will, as shown by the evidence or the record,

discretion is abused.” Hainsey v. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Bd., 529

Pa. 286, 297, 602 A.2d 1300, 1305 (1992) (citations omitted).

At the outset of the Appeal Form, Licensee states that it is not
appealing the substance of the charges. Rather, Licensee requests a
reduction in the penalty ordered by the ALJ. Licensee explains that it
is having difficulty coming up with sufficient funds to pay the fine
because it has experienced a decline in patronage.?

The record reveals that even if Licensee sought review of the
underlying charges, it would not be entitled to do so as a result of
submitting the Waiver form. The Waiver, which was sighed by board
member and treasurer of the licensed corporation, Jeffrey R. Snarski,

provided that Licensee: (1) admitted to all violations charged in the

2 Licensee filed an untimely request for reconsideration with the ALJ raising the same issue,
but it was returned to Licensee due to its untimeliness.



Citation; (2) agreed that the Bureau complied with all applicable
investigatory and notice requirements; (3) waived the right to a
hearing and to appeal the adjudication; (4) authorized the ALJ to enter
an adjudication based upon a summary of facts provided by the
Bureau as well as consideration of Licensee’s prior citation history; and
(5) acknowledged that it was afforded the opportunity to review all
documents which the Bureau submitted to the ALJ.

The voluntary waiver of appeal rights in an enforcement matter is

binding against a licensee. See Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of

Liguor Control Enforcement v. Wilner, 687 A.2d 1216 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1997), citing with approval Pennsylvania Liquor Control Bd. v. Dentici,

542 A.2d 229 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1988). The Waiver signed by Licensee
here was in no way conditional, and Licensee does not allege it was
misled in submitting it. The Waiver is clear as to the violations
alleged, as well as the ramifications of submitting the form to the
OALJ. Accordingly, Licensee voluntarily relinquished its right to appeal
the ALJ’s decision, including the penalty.

Moreover, the Waiver form notified Licensee of the possible
penalties applicable to each of the four (4) charges of the Citation. To
wit, section 471 permits the ALJ to impose a license suspension or

revocation and/or a fine of not less than one thousand dollars



($1,000.00) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) for each
of the violations charged in counts one and two, while the permissible
range of fines is between fifty dollars ($50.00) and one thousand
dollars ($1,000.00) for counts three and four. [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)].

Although Licensee’s financial troubles are unfortunate, even if
Licensee had not waived its right to appeal, the end result would be
the same. It is within the sole discretion of the ALJ, once satisfied that
a licensee committed the violation or violations charged, to determine
an appropriate penalty within the statutory parameters. In this case,
the ALJ imposed a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00). The fine
pursuant to each charge is within the range set forth in the Liquor
Code and, in fact, is on the low end of the permitted scale. Since the
fine is within the statutory guidelines set forth in the Liquor Code, the
Board cannot alter the penalties imposed by the ALJ.

Therefore, for the foregoing reasons, the Adjudication and Order

of the ALJ is affirmed.3

3 Licensee’s Application for Supersedeas is rendered moot by the Board’s decision.



ORDER
The appeal of Licensee is denied.
The decision of the ALJ is affirmed.
The fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) has been paid in
part. Four hundred dollars ($400.00) is still unpaid to date.
The ALJ’s Order mailed June 24, 2014, remains in effect. This

case is hereby remanded to the ALJ to ensure Licensee’s compliance.

Board Secretary



