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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

 

BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  Craig A. Strong, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Ex Parte 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count, that was issued on April 

28, 2014, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police 

(Bureau) against Kidder Township Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 (Licensee). 

 

The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 471.1(g) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-471.1(g)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, failed to 

have your Board-approved manager complete RAMP training within 180 days of the Board’s 

approval of the appointment, during the period February 9 through March 5, 2014. 
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I presided at an evidentiary hearing on December 11, 2014 at 100 Lackawanna Avenue, 

Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Office of Administrative Law Judge sent a notice of hearing on October 23, 

2014, by certified mail, return receipt requested. The notice was received and signed for on 

October 28, 2014.   

 

2. The Bureau began its investigation on March 3, 2014 and completed it on April 1, 

2014.  (Judge’s Exhibit No. J-1) 

 

 3. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violation to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on April 4, 2014.  The notice alleged the 

violation as charged in the citation. (Judge’s Exhibit No. J-1, N.T. 4) 

 

4. During the period charged, Licensee failed to have the Board approved manager 

complete RAMP training within 180 days of appointment. (N.T. 3-4) 

 

 

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

2. I sustain the violation as charged.  

 

 

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since July 17, 1987, and has the following Adjudication 

history: 

 

In Re Citation No.:  91-2264.  Fine $450.00. 

1. Sales to nonmembers without prior arrangement on 

August 5, 1991. 

 2. Sold malt or brewed beverages for consumption off 

premises on August 5, 1991. 
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 3. Sold alcoholic beverages after your Catering Club 

liquor license expired on July 31, 1991 and had not 

been renewed on August 5, 1991. 

 

  In Re Citation No.:  00-0519.  Fine $450.00. 

Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted 

gambling on your licensed premises (sports pool) on March 

5, 2000. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  09-0933.  Fine $350.00. 

1. Failed to maintain records in conformity with the 

Liquor Code and Title 40 of the Pennsylvania Code 

during the period October 1, 2008 through March 25, 

2009. 

2. Failed to maintain complete and truthful records 

covering the operation of the licensed business for a 

period of 2 years immediately preceding March 25, 

2009. 

3. Failed to maintain a photo static or certified copy of the 

Charter on the licensed premises on March 25, 2009. 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 
Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for the violation 

found herein. 

 
Discretionary Component(s) 

 

 Licensee’s President called on the day of the hearing to advise that no one would come to 

the hearing as Licensee was on call the evening before to assist with bad weather problems.   

 

 The President further acknowledged the violation was caused by his predecessor who was 

removed for various unlawful activities.  The President first requested a continuance but when I 

explained that I took no negative inference from no one coming to the hearing and that the 

President admitted to the violation, he then had no objection to an ex parte hearing.  In fact, it is 

rare indeed for an organization’s leader to be transferred from one telephone call to another until 

I was located.  Therefore, I impose a $75.00 fine. 
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ORDER: 

 
Imposition of Fine  

 

 Licensee must pay a $75.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 
Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

 

Dated this      13TH         day of January, 2015. 

  
 Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

 

bc 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  If you have not already done so, it may be 

prudent for you to consult with an attorney.   

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 
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Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

       ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or an attorney’s check who is 

licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable 

unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB – Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/debit cards may be used:  visit www.lcb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then 

click on Office of ALJ for instructions. 
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