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ADJUDICATION 

 

 

 

BEFORE:  Felix Thau, Administrative Law Judge  

 

FOR BLCE:  John H. Pietrzak, Esquire 

 

LICENSEE:  Ex Parte 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing two counts, that was issued on June 5, 

2014, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (Bureau) 

against T-N-Keiffer’s Brickhouse, LP (Licensee). 

 

The first count charges Licensee with a violation of Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-471] and Section 637.6(a)(2) of the Clean Indoor Air Act [35 P.S. §637.6(a)(2)].  The 

charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, smoked and/or permitted 

smoking in a public place where smoking is prohibited, on April 8, 2014. 
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The second count charges Licensee with a violation of Section 5.23(c) of the Liquor 

Control Board Regulations [40 Pa. Code §5.23(c)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your 

servants, agents, or employees, failed to notify the Board within fifteen (15) days of a change of 

manager, during the period August 17, 2013 through April 8, 2014. 

 

I presided at an evidentiary hearing on January 15, 2015 at 2221 Paxton Church Road, 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

1. The Office of Administrative Law Judge sent a notice of hearing on December 2, 

2014, by certified mail, return receipt requested and first class mail.  The certified mail notice 

was returned unclaimed.  The first class notice was not returned.   

   

2. The Bureau began its investigation on April 8, 2014 and completed it on April 28, 

2014.  (N.T. 11) 

 

 3. The Bureau sent a notice of the alleged violations to Licensee at the licensed 

premises by certified mail, return receipt requested, on May 15, 2014.  The notice alleged the 

violations as charged in the citation. (Commonwealth Exhibit No. C-1, N.T. 8) 

 

Count No. 1 

 

4. On April 8, 2014, a Bureau Enforcement Officer entered the licensed premises to 

conduct an administrative inspection. The Officer observed patrons smoking in the licensed 

premises.  Licensee did not have an exemption to allow smoking.  (N.T. 11-12) 

 

Count No. 2 

 

5. Licensee installed a new Manager.  During the period charged, Licensee failed to 

submit the required documents to the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board to register the change.  

(N.T. 12-14) 

 

 

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 
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2. I sustain the violations as charged.  

 

 

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since September 15, 2009, and has the following Adjudication 

history: 

 

In Re Citation No.:  11-1679.  Fine $2,000.00.   

1. Possessed or operated gambling devices or permitted 

gambling on the licensed premises (Nascar pools) on 

June 27 and 28, 2011. 

2. Smoked and/or permitted smoking in a public place 

where smoking was prohibited on June 27 and 28, 

2011. 

 

In Re Citation No.:  14-1543X.  Fine $150.00. 

Issued worthless checks for payment of malt or brewed 

beverages dated April 21 and 28, 2014. 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 
Mandatory Requirement(s) 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for the violations 

found herein. 

 
Discretionary Component(s) 

 

 I adopt the Bureau’s recommended penalty as follows: 

 

   Count No. 1 - $500.00 fine. 

 

   Count No. 2 - $350.00 fine. 
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ORDER: 

 
Imposition of Fine  

 

 Licensee must pay a $850.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 
Retaining Jurisdiction    

 

 I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

 

Dated this      18TH         day of February, 2015. 

  
 Felix Thau, A.L.J. 

bc 

 

 

 

 

General Information 

 

This Adjudication is a legal document.  It affects your rights, privileges, and obligations.  

The information which follows is a general guide.  If you have not already done so, it may be 

prudent for you to consult with an attorney.   

 

 

 

Applying for Reconsideration 

 

 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 
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Appeal Rights 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or an attorney’s check who is 

licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable 

unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB – Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/debit cards may be used:  visit www.lcb.state.pa.us scroll over LEGAL and then 

click on Office of ALJ for instructions.. 
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