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O P I N I O N 

Buddy Clarke’s Tavern, Inc. (“Licensee”) appeals from the 

Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) Felix Thau 

mailed June 12, 2015, wherein the ALJ sustained Citation No. 14-

1372C (“Citation”) and ordered Licensee to pay a fine of three 

thousand dollars ($3,000.00) and to become compliant with the 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board’s (“Board”) Responsible Alcohol 
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Management Program (“RAMP”), outlined in section 471.1 of the 

Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471.1].  Having reviewed the Notes of 

Testimony from the hearing held on May 6, 2015, the Adjudication and 

Order, as well as Licensee’s appeal, and the Pennsylvania State Police, 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement’s (“Bureau”) reply, the Board 

affirms the decision of the ALJ. 

The Bureau issued the Citation to Licensee on July 16, 2014, 

setting forth the following charge:   

1. On June 21, 2014, you, by your servants, agents or 
employees, sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such 

sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one (1) 

minor, nineteen (19) years of age, in violation of Section 
493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. §4-493(1). 

  

[Ex. C-2].  A hearing was held on May 6, 2015, in which Craig A. 

Strong, Esquire, appeared as counsel for the Bureau.  Licensee did not 

appear or present any evidence, despite having been notified of the 

hearing by way of first class and certified mail sent on March 18, 2015.  

By Adjudication and Order mailed June 12, 2015, the ALJ sustained 

the charge and imposed a fine of three thousand hundred dollars 

($3,000.00).  The ALJ also ordered Licensee to become RAMP-

compliant for one (1) year from the date of the Bureau of Alcohol 

Education certification.  Licensee filed an untimely pro se appeal to the 

Board on July 15, 2015, along with an application for supersedeas. 
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In the event a party is aggrieved by a decision of an ALJ, there is 

a right of appeal to the Board.  [47 P.S. § 4-471(b); 40 Pa. Code § 

17.21(a)].  The Board’s Regulations provide that failure to file or have 

the appeal postmarked within thirty (30) calendar days of the mailing 

date of the ALJ’s order will result in dismissal of the appeal.  [40 Pa. 

Code § 17.21(b)(2)].   

The filing of a timely appeal is a jurisdictional prerequisite; if an 

appeal is filed outside the statutory period from the time the 

determination is made, it becomes final, and the appeal may not be 

considered.  Hessou v. Unemployment Comp. Board of Review, 942 

A.2d 194 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008).  The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania 

has held that the time for taking an appeal cannot be extended as a 

matter of grace or mere indulgence.  West Penn Power Co. v. 

Goddard, 460 Pa. 551, 333 A.2d 909 (1975); In re: Dixon’s Estate, 

443 Pa. 303, 279 A.2d 39 (1971).  Extension of a statutory period for 

filing an appeal is generally limited to cases where “there is fraud or 

some breakdown in the court’s operation.”  West Penn Power Co., 460 

Pa. at 556, 333 A.2d at 912.  The Court later recognized another 

exception to the general prohibition against late appeals for the non-

negligent conduct of an appellant’s attorney or the attorney’s staff.  
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Bass v. Commonwealth Bureau of Corrections, 485 Pa. 256, 401 A.2d 

1133 (1979). 

The rule set forth in Bass was further clarified in Cook v. 

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 543 Pa. 381, 671 A.2d 

1130 (1996).  Specifically, the Court ruled that an untimely appeal is 

only excusable if: (1) it was caused by extraordinary circumstances 

involving fraud or breakdown in the court’s operation or non-negligent 

conduct of the appellant or the appellant’s counsel; (2) the appeal is 

filed within a short time after the appellant or the appellant’s counsel 

learns of and has the opportunity to address the untimeliness; (3) the 

time period which elapses is of very short duration; and (4) the 

appellee is not prejudiced by the delay.  Id. at 1131. 

In the instant matter, Licensee has based its appeal on (1) its 

inability to obtain counsel in time, (2) Mr. Clarke’s inability to attend 

the hearing along with his lack of knowledge as to what to do, (3) a 

family member’s hospitalization at the time of the issuance of the 

citation, (4) the failure of the employee who served the minor “to do 

the math,” along with his denial of the remark “18 is good enough,” 

and (5) the financial hardship of the imposed fine upon Mr. Clarke’s 

family.  None of these satisfy the factors under the Cook test.   
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The first and most important factor is whether the failure to meet 

the deadline of the appeal was because of extraordinary circumstances 

or non-negligent conduct.  Mr. Clarke’s assertions of his inability to 

find counsel and/or to attend the hearing with sufficient knowledge 

constitute negligent conduct on his part.  While the Board is 

sympathetic to a family member’s hospitalization in June 2014, when 

the Citation was issued, it is not relevant to Licensee’s failure to 

appear at the hearing in May 2015 or to its untimely appeal of the 

decision of the ALJ issued pursuant to that hearing.  Licensee’s 

assertion that the employee who furnished alcohol to the underage 

buyer miscalculated his age is neither a defense to the violation nor a 

basis for an appeal.  Lastly, any financial hardship due to a lawful fine 

is not a valid basis for appeal herein.  Licensee’s untimely filing can be 

attributed only to negligence.  Additionally, there is an absence of any 

extraordinary circumstances to meet the first prong of Cook.   

With the failure to meet the first factor, the remaining factors as 

to time and prejudice need not be fully addressed.  But, in brief, 

Licensee was notified of the issuance of the Citation and of the date 

set for the hearing; it chose not to respond.  Once the Adjudication 

was mailed, Licensee failed to comply with the requisite time periods 

set for appeal and has neither enumerated nor substantiated any valid 



6 

reasons upon which to base its appeal.  Finally, as to the factor of 

prejudice in Cook, arbitrarily extending the time periods of an appeal 

would ignore the will of the Legislature, and result in the inconsistent 

enforcement of procedures within the Liquor Code.  The statutory 

deadline for appeals cannot be ignored or suspended.  In light of the 

aforementioned, the Board does not have authority to entertain 

Licensee’s untimely appeal. 

Assuming arguendo that Licensee had timely filed its appeal, 

there is no substantive merit to the appeal.  Pursuant to section 471 of 

the Liquor Code, the appeal in this case must be based solely on the 

record before the ALJ.  The Board may only reverse the decision if the 

ALJ committed an error of law or abuse of discretion, or if his decision 

was not based upon substantial evidence.  [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)].  The 

Commonwealth Court has defined “substantial evidence” to be such 

relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as adequate to 

support a conclusion.  Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation 

Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. 

Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and Parole, 484 A.2d 413 (Pa. Cmwlth. 

1984).  Furthermore, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has defined an 

abuse of discretion as “not merely an error of judgment, but if in 

reaching a conclusion the law is overridden or misapplied or the 
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judgment exercised is manifestly unreasonable, or the result of 

partiality, prejudice, bias, or ill-will, as shown by the evidence or the 

record, discretion is abused.”  Hainsey v. Pennsylvania Liquor Control 

Bd., 529 Pa. 286, 297, 602 A.2d 1300, 1305 (1992) (citations 

omitted). 

The record is clear from the testimony of the Bureau officers that 

on June 21, 2014, Licensee’s bartender served an alcoholic beverage 

to a nineteen (19)-year-old minor who was there as part of an Age 

Compliance Check Program detail, in violation of subsection 493(1) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-493(1)].  (N.T. 8, 10).  The underage 

buyer ordered a Yuengling Lager draft from the bartender, who 

requested his identification.  (N.T. 10, 18).  The minor produced his 

valid Pennsylvania junior driver’s license, after which the bartender 

served him the beer and charged him for it.  (N.T. 10).  Additionally, 

the underage buyer testified as to the transaction, stating that the 

bartender commented that “over 18 is good enough.”  (N.T. 14).  

Following the minor’s departure, Licensee’s bartender was informed 

about the unlawful sale by a Bureau officer.  (N.T. 11, 18). 

In reliance upon the testimony presented, the ALJ rendered his 

decision and imposed a fine of three thousand dollars ($3,000.00), 

which is well within the limits set forth in section 471(b) of the Liquor 
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Code [47 P.S. § 4-471(b)].  Pursuant to section 471(e) [47 P.S. § 4-

471(e)], the ALJ also mandated compliance with RAMP for a period of 

one (1) year.  Neither the finding of the ALJ nor the sentence imposed 

is an abuse of discretion or a misapplication/error of law.  

In its appeal, Licensee has failed to set forth any evidence in 

support of an abuse of discretion and/or an error of law on the part of 

the ALJ in sustaining the citation of providing liquor to a minor.  

Further, Licensee does not dispute that the sale to a minor occurred, 

but uses it as a basis for appeal, qualifying that the employee/friend of 

Licensee failed “to do the math” in serving the minor.  

Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons, the Adjudication and 

Order is affirmed, and the appeal of the Licensee is dismissed.1 

                                                 
1 The application for supersedeas is dismissed as moot. 



9 

O R D E R 

 
 The appeal of Licensee is dismissed. 

 The application for supersedeas is dismissed. 

The decision of the ALJ is affirmed.  

Licensee has paid the fine of three thousand dollars ($3.000.00). 

The requirement that Licensee comply with the provisions of 

section 471.1 of the Liquor Code, pertaining to the Responsible Alcohol 

Management Program, remains in effect.  Licensee shall receive RAMP 

certification within ninety (90) days of the mailing date of this Order. 

The case is hereby remanded to the ALJ to ensure compliance 

with this Order. 

 

 

 
 

 

 
___________________________________ 

Board Secretary 


