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BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on October 23, 2014, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (hereinafter “Bureau”) 

against THE COPPERHEAD, L.L.C., (hereinafter “Licensee”). 

 

 The citation contains two counts. 

 

 The first count charges Licensee with violation of Section 442(a)(1) of the Liquor Code 

[47 P.S. §4-442(a)(1)] in that on July 26, 2014, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, 

sold malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192 fluid ounces in a single sale to one person for 

consumption off premises. 

 

 The second count charges Licensee with violation of Sections 406(a)(3) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§4-406(a)(3) and 4-493(16)] in that on August 10, 2014, Licensee, by 

its servants, agents or employees, sold, furnished and/or gave alcoholic beverages on Sunday 

between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. 
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 The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on July 7, 2014 and was 

completed on September 10, 2014; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on October 2, 2014.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on June 16, 2015 at The Lysox Complex, 

524 County Farms Road, Suite 2, Montoursville, Pennsylvania 17784-9865. 

 

 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, we make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 1. On July 26, 2014, an officer of the Bureau entered the licensed premises in an 

undercover capacity (N.T. 7). 

 

 2. The officer entered the carryout store portion of the premises where he retrieved a 

12-pack of Natural Light beer in 12-ounce cans (144 ounces) and a six-pack of Busch beer in 16 

ounce cans (96 ounces), for a total of 240 ounces (N.T. 9-10). 

 

 3. The officer placed both of the items on the checkout counter in the carryout area.  

He handed the female clerk a $20.00 bill.  The clerk walked around the counter and through a 

doorway into the bar area and returned with $4.25 which she handed to the officer (N.T. 10). 

 

 4. At this point, the female employee told the officer that she could not let him carry 

the six-pack and the 12-pack both at once.  The officer then took the six-pack and set it outside 

the door.  He then returned and picked up the 12-pack and took it outside where he picked up the 

six pack and went to his vehicle (N.T. 10-11). 

 

COUNT 2 

 

 5. On Sunday, August 10, 2014 at 8:30 a.m., the officer made a visit to the licensed 

premises in an undercover capacity (N.T. 12). 

 

 6. At the time of his arrival, the officer observed that the licensed premises was 

closed (N.T. 12). 

 

 7. At approximately 9:30 a.m., the officer observed a vehicle pull in and park 

alongside the licensed premises.  A male individual whom the officer recognized as Jason 

Clymer, principal of Copperhead, LLC, exited the vehicle, entered the licensed premises and 

opened the premises for business (N.T. 12-13). 

 

 8. The officer entered the licensed premises at 9:42 a.m.  He selected a six pack of 

Twisted Tea Strawberry Lemonade from the cooler and placed it on the counter.  He was waited 

on by Mr. Clymer (N.T. 13-14). 
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 9. The only food items that the licensed operation serves constantly are two types of 

chili dogs.  These items are advertised throughout the establishment.  Licensee has these items 

prepared the night before and in the refrigerator so that they can be microwaved and served 

quickly upon request.  Licensee occasionally has other food items which would be cooked and 

ready for service around 11:00 a.m. (N.T. 30-39 and Exhibits L-1, L-2, L-3 and L-4). 

 

 10. If the officer or anyone else had ordered chili dogs at 9:00 a.m. when the 

establishment first opened, the Licensee could have quickly warmed up chili dogs and served 

them (N.T. 45-48). 

 

 11. The officer asked Mr. Clymer if there was anything cooking and whether he had 

any chicken wings.  Mr. Clymer replied that he didn’t have a fryer, and therefore he didn’t have 

chicken wings.  He told the officer, “We have chili dogs, and I might be making other foods 

around lunchtime.” (N.T. 14 and 49). 

 

 12. The officer did not order any food items other than chicken wings (N.T. 22, 39-

40). 

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 

 1. Count No. 1 of the citation is sustained. 

 2. Count No. 2 of the citation is dismissed. 

 

DISCUSSION: 

 

COUNT 1 

 

 There was a factual dispute at the hearing as to whether or not the patron who purchased 

the two 12-packs of Yuengling Lager beer paid for each 12-pack separately.  However, in either 

case, the actual intention of the parties was for the purchase of 288 fluid ounces of malt or 

brewed beverages for consumption off the premises.  Count No. 1 of the citation is, therefore, 

sustained. 

 

 Section 442(a)(1) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-442(a)(1)] provides in part: 

 

…No retail dispenser may sell malt or brewed beverages for 

consumption off premises in quantities in excess of 192 fluid 

ounces; … 

 

 Licensee contends that the events in question amounted to two separate sales, each under 

192 fluid ounces, and, therefore no violation occurred.  I disagree. 
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 The issued presented here was addressed by Administrative Law Judge Thau in Thomas 

E. D’Andrea, Citation No. 88-1218, V Sel. Op. 169.  In that case Judge Thau, citing the 

Statutory Construction Act [1 Pa. C.S. §1922(1)] and the interpretational directives of Liquor 

Code Section 104 [47 P.S. §1-104], indicated that a statute is not to be interpreted in a manner 

which renders it meaningless.  In support of this position, Judge Thau cited Commonwealth 

Liquor Control Board v. Starr, 318 A.2d 763 (Pa. Cmwlth 1974), affirmed Commonwealth 

Liquor Control Board v. Starr, 337 A.2d 914 (Pa. Cmwlth 1975); and  In re: School District of 

Pittsburgh, 244 A.2d 42 (Pa. 1968). 

 

 Judge Thau further indicated that to accept licensee’s position in that case, which is the 

same as Licensee’s position in this case, would allow a person to purchase a large quantity of 

beer so long as the transaction was broken down into separate segments, each less than 192 fluid 

ounces.  Such an interpretation renders the statutory provision in question meaningless. 

 

 I agree with Judge Thau that only those separate transactions which are entered into in 

good faith and not in an attempt to circumvent the statute should be considered legitimate. 

 

 In this case, the patron placed two 12-packs of 12-ounce cans of beer on the counter 

simultaneously.  At this point the customer tendered money to the counter person in payment for 

the beer.  It is only at this point that a feeble attempt is made to portray the sale of beer as two 

transactions when the counter person asks the customer to carry out the parcels separately. 

 

 Even if two separate payments were made for each of the 12-packs, it is clear that the 

parties intended one sale and purchase of 288 fluid ounces of beer at one time.  Based upon the 

foregoing, I conclude that the charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

COUNT 2 

 

 Licensee was in compliance with the applicable statutory section applying to eating place 

licensees, and this count must, therefore, be dismissed. 

 

 Licensee was charged with violation of Section 406(a)(3) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-

406(a)(3)] which does not name eating place licensees.  However, the identical language is also 

found in Section 432(f) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-432(f)].  This section reads as follows: 

 

Hotel, eating places, or municipal golf course retail dispenser 

licensees may sell malt or brewed beverages between the hours of 

eleven o’clock antemeridian on Sunday and two o’clock 

antemeridian on Monday upon purchase of a special permit from 

the board at an annual fee as prescribed in section 614-A of the act 

of April 9, 1929 (P.L. 177, No. 175, known as “The Administrative 

Code of 1929,”) which shall be in addition to any other license 

fees.  Notwithstanding this provision, a licensee holding such a 

special permit may begin selling malt or brewed beverages on 

Sunday between the hours of nine o’clock antemeridian and eleven 

o’clock antemeridian provided that the licensee offers a meal, as  
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that term is defined in section 406 beginning at nine o’clock 

antemeridian. 

 

 The record establishes in this case that Licensee had available in the refrigerator cooked 

ingredients for chili dogs and could have served them very quickly had they been ordered.  The 

officer, however, inquired about chicken wings but never ordered any food. 

 

 A “meal” is defined in Section 406 (supra) as: 

 

…food prepared on the premises sufficient to constitute breakfast, 

lunch or dinner; it shall not mean a snack such as pretzels, 

popcorn, chips or similar food. 

 

 I am of the opinion that cooked chili dogs in the refrigerator and available to be heated 

and served within a minute or so constitutes a meal that was ready for service. 

 

 Based upon the foregoing, I conclude that Licensee was in compliance with Section 

432(f) of the Liquor Code (supra) the appropriate Section of the Liquor Code and Count No. 2 of 

the citation is dismissed. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since November 8, 2004, and has had two prior violations: 

 

IN RE: 

 

Citation No.  05-2158.  Fine $250.00. 

1. Sold malt or brewed beverages in excess of 192 

fluid ounces for consumption off premises. 

 

Citation No. 14-0781.  Fine $1,400.00. 

1. Sales on Sunday between 2:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m.  

March 30, 2014. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $1,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in Count 1 of this case. 

 

 Under the circumstances of this case, the penalty imposed shall be as follows: 

 

  Count 1 - $250.00 fine 

  Count 2 - Dismissed 
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ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee THE COPPERHEAD, L.L.C., pay a 

fine of $250.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the aforementioned 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    24TH      day of December, 2015. 

 

 

        
        Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., J. 

an 

 

 
MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN WRITING 

AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER 

THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE’S ORDER, 

THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THE ORDER.  

PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE AT 717-783-9454.  

 
Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order or a check drawn on the business or trust account of 

an attorney licensed in Pennsylvania.  Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable unless bank certified.  

Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any 

required documentation to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg PA  17110-9661 
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