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COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
FOR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

PENNSYLVANIA STATE : Inre Citation No. 15-1921

POLICE, BUREAU OF :
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149 BROWN ST. :

PHILADELPHIA, PA 19123-3022 . Philadelphia County

JUDGE SHENKLE

BLCE COUNSEL.: Erik S. Shmukler, Esq.
LICENSEE COUNSEL.: John J. McCreesh, IlI, Esqg.

ADJUDICATION

BACKGROUND:

The Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police issued this
citation on November 3, 2015. There are four counts in the citation.

The first count alleges that Licensee violated the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-499(a), on August
22,2015, by failing to require patrons to vacate that part of the premises habitually used for the service
of alcoholic beverages not later than one-half hour after the service of alcoholic beverages is required
to cease.

The second count alleges that Licensee violated the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 8§4-499(a), on
August 22, 2015, by permitting patrons to possess alcoholic beverages in and/or remove them from
that part of the premises habitually used for the service of alcoholic beverages after 2:30 a.m.

The third count alleges that Licensee violated the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-499(a), on August
22, 2015, by permitting patrons to enter that portion of the premises habitually used for the service of
alcoholic beverages between 2:30 a.m. and 7:00 a.m.

The fourth count alleges that Licensee violated the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 884-406(a)(2) and 4-
493(16), on August 22, 2015, by selling, furnishing and/or giving alcoholic beverages between 2:00
a.m. and 7:00 a.m.

A hearing was held on Tuesday, August 23, 2016, in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania. The
parties stipulated to the timely service of the notice letter and citation.
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FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. Liquor enforcement officers entered the licensed premises on August 22, 2015, at 12:35
a.m. and saw about 30 patrons attended by two bartenders. The officers went to the outside serving
area, and then returned to the inside portion of the premises a little before 2:00 a.m. At 2:00 a.m. one
of the bartenders began closing out the tabs of some of the customers, and some of them began leaving
through the main entrance. Others, including the officers, remained (N.T. 6-8).

2. At 2:05 a.m. a man in an airline uniform knocked on the door, and was admitted by the
doorman. The man went to the bar and spoke to a bartender, who brought him a draft beer and a
double shot of whiskey. At 2:08 a.m. the officers purchased bottles of beer and shots of whiskey, for
which they paid (N.T. 10-11).

3. At 2:16 a.m. the doorman admitted two patrons; a bartender served them each beer and
whiskey. At 2:23 a.m. one of the officers bought two bottles of beer. At 2:40 a.m. the doorman
admitted another patron, who purchased a six-pack of bottled beer. When the officers left at 2:45
a.m. there were still five patrons in the premises, most of them in possession of beer (N.T. 12-13).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

Sustained as charged.

PRIOR RECORD:

Licensee has been licensed since October 6, 1994, and has had prior violations as follows:

In re Citation No. 00-1652. $500.00 fine.
1. Loudspeakers could be heard outside.

In re Citation No. 14-1745. $500.00 fine.
1. Permitted use of marijuana on the licensed premises. July 11, 2014.

In re Citation No. 14-1934C. $1,450.00 fine and RAMP certification mandated.
1. Sold alcohol to a minor. August 22, 2014.
2. Operated without a valid health permit. May 1 through August 24, 2014.

PENALTY:

Section 471 of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. 84-471, prescribes a penalty of license suspension or
revocation or a fine, or both, for violations of the type found in this case. For violations of the type
found in the first, second and third counts, any fine must be in the $50.00 to $1,000.00 range. For
violations of the type found in the fourth count, any fine must be in the $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 range.
Penalties are assessed as follows:

Count 1 — a fine of $300.00.
Count 2 — a fine of $300.00.
Count 3 —a fine of $300.00
Count 4 — a fine of $1,000.00.
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ORDER

THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Licensee, 149 S & M, Inc., License No. R-AP-
SS-5023, shall pay a fine of one thousand nine hundred dollars ($1,900.00) within 20 days of the
mailing date of this order. In the event the fine is not paid within 20 days, Licensee’s license will be
suspended or revoked. Jurisdiction is retained.

Dated this 16™ day of September , 2016.

(O e

David L. Shenkle, J.

b

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN
WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 15 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 FILING FEE.

WHETHER OR NOT RECONSIDERATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED, AGGRIEVED PERSONS MAY
APPEAL TO THE PLCB, NORTHWEST OFFICE BUILDING, HARRISBURG, PA 17124 WITHIN 30 DAYS
AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER.

THE PLCB CHIEF COUNSEL'S TELEPHONE NUMBER IS 717-783-9454.

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment — Note Citation Number on Check

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or a check drawn on the account of an attorney
licensed in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable unless bank
certified. If you are paying by guaranteed check, please make it payable to the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation, to:

PLCB — Office of Administrative Law Judge
Brandywine Plaza
2221 Paxton Church Road
Harrisburg PA 17110-9661

Credit/debit cards may be used: if you have already registered with PLCB+ you

should be able to pay by Credit/Debit card; if you have not registered with PLCB+

you may obtain the information on how to register by sending an email message to:
RA-LBLICENSINGMOD@pa.gov.
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