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BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation, containing one count that was issued on 

December 10, 2015, by the Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State 

Police (Bureau) against Culhanes, Inc. (Licensee). 

   

 The citation charges Licensee with a violation of Section 471(d) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-471(d)].  The charge is that Licensee, by your servants, agents, or employees, failed to 

comply with the order of the Administrative Law Judge at Citation No. 15-0365C mandating 

responsible alcohol management training, during the period July 22 through October 27, 2015. 
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I presided at an evidentiary hearing on October 26, 2016 at 2221 Paxton Church Road, 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.  

 

Therefore, I make the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

 

 

STIPULATED FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. Exhibit C-1 is a copy of the Notice of Violation letter.  The Licensee received it. 

(N.T. 4) 

 

 2. Exhibit C-2 is a copy of the Citation.  The Licensee received it. (N.T. 5) 

 

 3. Exhibit C-3 is a copy of the adjudication for a prior citation (15-0365C). (N.T. 5) 

 

 4. Pursuant to an adjudication in citation 15-0365C, the Office of the Administrative 

Law Judge ordered the Licensee to become compliant with the Board’s Responsible Alcohol 

Management Program (RAMP) no later than July 21, 2015.  (N.T. 5) 

 

 5. On October 14, 2015, a Liquor Control Enforcement Officer met with Tom 

Sagonas (Licensee’s president and Board approved manager).  As of October 14, 2015, the 

Licensee did not have any RAMP signs posted and had not submitted the affidavit required by 

the Board to complete the RAMP certification process.  The Licensee had completed the 

required training. (N.T. 6) 

 

 6. The Bureau obtained the certification from the Board certifying that the Licensee 

was not RAMP certified from July 22, 2015 through October 27, 2015. (N.T. 7, Exhibit C-4) 

 

 7. The Licensee became RAMP certified on June 13, 2016. (N.T. 7) 

 

 8. Exhibit C-5 is a copy of Licensee’s prior history. (N.T. 7) 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 

9. Thomas Sagonas testified for the Licensee. 

 

10. Licensee procured RAMP signage but overlooked displaying them.  (N.T. 10) 

 

 11. Licensee overlooked sending in the RAMP completion affidavit. (N.T. 10) 

 

 12. At the time of the hearing the RAMP signs had been displayed, and the RAMP 

affidavit sent in.  (N.T. 11) 
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CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The notice requirements of Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] have been 

satisfied. 

 

  2. I sustain the violation as charged.   

   

 

PRIOR ADJUDICATION HISTORY: 

 

Licensee has been licensed since December 28, 2011, and has the following Adjudication 

history: 

 

In Re Citation No.:  15-0365C.  Fine $1,250.00 and RAMP 

certification mandated.   

Sales to a minor on February 1, 2015. 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT CRITERIA: 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension, or 

revocation, or a fine of not less than $50.00, or more than $1,000.00, or both for the violation 

found herein. 

 

I impose a $350.00 fine. 

 

 

ORDER: 

 

 Licensee must pay a $350.00 fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this 

Adjudication.  The mailing date is located on this Adjudication’s first page, upper left corner.  If 

Licensee fails to comply, the Liquor Code requires that I suspend or revoke the license.  

 

I retain Jurisdiction to ensure compliance with this Adjudication. 

 

 

Dated this        9TH            day of November, 2016.        

        

 

         

        Ember S. Jandebeur, J. 

bc 
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 If you want the Administrative Law Judge to reconsider this Adjudication, you must 

submit a written application and a nonrefundable $25.00 filing fee.  Both must be received by the 

Office of Administrative Law Judge, (PLCB - Office of Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine 

Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9661) within fifteen days of this 

Adjudication’s mailing date.  Your application must describe the reasons for reconsideration.  

The full requirements for reconsideration can be found in Title 1 Pa. Code §35.241. 

 

 

 

If you wish to appeal this Adjudication, you must file an appeal within thirty days of the 

mailing date of this Adjudication by contacting the Office of Chief Counsel of the Pennsylvania 

Liquor Control Board (717-783-9454).  For further information, visit www.lcb.state.pa.us.  The 

full requirements for an appeal can be found in 47 P.S. §4-471. 

 

 

 

Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

       ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or an attorney’s check who is 

licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable 

unless bank certified. Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB – Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg, PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/Debit Cards may be used: if you have already registered with PLCB+ you 

should be able to pay by Credit/Debit card; if you have not registered with PLCB+ you may 

obtain the information on how to register by sending an email message to: RA-

LBLICENSINGMOD@pa.gov. 
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