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O P I N I O N 

D & M Shumbris, Inc. t/a The Swizzle Stick (“Licensee”) appeals 

from the Adjudication and Order of Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 

Daniel T. Flaherty, Jr., mailed July 12, 2016, wherein the ALJ sustained 

Citation No. 16-0744 and ordered Licensee to pay a fine in the amount 

of $750.00. 
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On May 27, 2016, the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of 

Liquor Control Enforcement (“Bureau”) issued the Citation to Licensee, 

charging it with violating section 493(1) of the Liquor Code, 47 P.S. § 

4-493(1) in that on April 21, 2016, Licensee, by its servants, agents or 

employees, sold, furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, 

furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to a visibly intoxicated 

person.  Licensee submitted an Admission, Waiver, and Authorization 

(“Waiver”) form in which it, inter alia, admitted to the violation; 

authorized the ALJ to enter an adjudication, without a hearing, based 

on the Bureau’s summary of facts; and waived the right to appeal the 

resulting adjudication.  By Adjudication and Order mailed July 12, 

2016, the ALJ sustained the charge and imposed a $750.00 fine.  

Notwithstanding its execution of the Waiver, Licensee appealed the 

ALJ’s decision to the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“PLCB”) on 

August 11, 2016.1 

Pursuant to section 471 of the Liquor Code, the appeal in this 

case must be based solely on the record before the ALJ.  The PLCB 

may only reverse the decision if the ALJ committed an error of law or 

abuse of discretion, or if his decision was not based upon substantial 

                                                 
1 Licensee also filed an application for supersedeas pursuant to section 17.31 of the PLCB’s 

Regulations, 40 Pa. Code § 17.31, which was granted on August 26, 2016. 
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evidence.  47 P.S. § 4-471(b).  The Commonwealth Court has defined 

“substantial evidence” to be such relevant evidence as a reasonable 

person might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.  Joy Global, 

Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Bd. (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098 

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2005); Chapman v. Pennsylvania Bd. of Probation and 

Parole, 484 A.2d 413 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1984).  Furthermore, the 

Pennsylvania Supreme Court has defined an abuse of discretion as 

“not merely an error of judgment, but if in reaching a conclusion the 

law is overridden or misapplied or the judgment exercised is 

manifestly unreasonable, or the result of partiality, prejudice, bias, or 

ill-will, as shown by the evidence or the record, discretion is abused.”  

Hainsey v. Pennsylvania Liquor Control Bd., 529 Pa. 286, 297, 602 

A.2d 1300, 1305 (1992) (citations omitted). 

It must first be emphasized that by executing the Waiver, 

Licensee waived its right to appeal the ALJ’s decision in this matter.  

Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement v. 

Wilner, 687 A.2d 1216 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1997).  Moreover, the Waiver 

form clearly set forth the possible penalties Licensee faced for the 

violation charged.  Nonetheless, Licensee requests that the PLCB 

modify the penalty imposed by the ALJ, and in lieu of the $750.00 fine, 

it asks for a two-day license suspension, preferably beginning on a 
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Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday.  However, even if Licensee had not 

submitted the Waiver, the PLCB would be unable to grant Licensee’s 

request. 

While the PLCB sympathizes with Licensee’s financial needs, 

nothing in the Liquor Code permits the PLCB to alter a legal penalty 

imposed by the ALJ.  It is within the sole discretion of the ALJ, once 

satisfied that a licensee committed the violation or violations charged 

by the Bureau, to determine an appropriate penalty within the 

statutory parameters.2 

For the type of violation sustained in the subject Citation, section 

471 of the Liquor Code permits the ALJ to impose a license suspension 

or revocation and/or fine of not less than $50.00 and no more than 

$1,000.00.  47 P.S. § 4-471(b).  Since the $750.00 fine is consistent 

with the parameters set forth in the Liquor Code, there is no basis for 

the PLCB to find an error of law or abuse of discretion.   

Therefore, for the foregoing reasons, the Adjudication and Order 

of the ALJ is affirmed. 

                                                 
2 Thus, the appropriate remedy when seeking to modify a penalty would be to file a motion 

for reconsideration with the ALJ within fifteen days of the mailing date of the Adjudication 

and Order.  40 Pa. Code § 15.56; 1 Pa. Code § 35.241.  In this case, Licensee attempted to 

do so but missed the filing deadline. 
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ORDER 

 The appeal of Licensee is denied. 

The decision of the ALJ is affirmed. 

The fine of $750.00 has not been paid.  Licensee is hereby 

ordered to pay the fine in the amount of $750.00.  Failure to pay the 

fine within twenty days of the mailing date of this Order will result in 

license suspension and/or revocation.  Instructions for payment of the 

fine may be obtained by contacting the Office of Administrative Law 

Judge. 

The case is hereby remanded to the ALJ to ensure compliance 

with this Order. 

 

_______________________ 
Board Secretary 


