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BLCE Incident No. PA 2019-145480 
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CLIFF’S RESTAURANT GROUP, INC. 

T/A CLIFF’S TAVERN 
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PLCB License No. R-AP-SS-EHF-19986 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BEFORE: John H. Pietrzak, ALJ 

FOR BLCE: Jessica H. Lathrop, Esquire 

LICENSEE: No Appearance 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on August 22, 2019, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (BLCE) against 

CLIFF’S RESTAURANT GROUP, INC. (Licensee). 

 

  The citation charges Licensee with violation of Sections 491(1), 492(2) and 493(16) of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §§4-491(1), 4-492(2) and 4-493(16)] in that during the period February 

1 through 3, 2019, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, sold alcoholic beverages after 

its restaurant liquor license expired on January 31, 2019, and had not been renewed and/or 

validated. 

  

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on January 29, 2020, in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania.   
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, I make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on February 1, 2019 and 

was completed on June 24, 2019; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on July 16, 2019. (N.T. 5 and Exhibit C-1) 

 

 2. The Licensee’s liquor license expired on January 31, 2019. (N.T. 9) 

 

 3. The Licensee received temporary authority to operate on February 8, 2019.  The 

Licensee did not have authority to sell or furnish alcohol during the period February 1 through 7, 

2019.  (Exhibit C-1) 

 

 4. A BLCE officer made several undercover visits to the licensed establishment 

during February, March and April 2019.  (N.T. 15) 

 

 5. On June 24, 2019, a BLCE officer conducted a routine inspection of the licensed 

establishment.  He met with Licensee’s Board approved manager, Barry Swidler.  (N.T. 8-9) 

 

 6. The officer reviewed Licensee’s sales records which showed that Licensee sold 

alcoholic beverages each day from February 1 through 3, 2019.  Bradley Swidler confirmed sales 

of alcohol on those dates.  Licensee did not sell alcohol from February 4 through 7, 2019.  (N.T. 

11-13, Exhibit C-8). 

 

CONCLUSION(S) OF LAW: 

 

 1. The Bureau satisfied all investigatory and notice requirements of Section 471 of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471]. 

 

 2. The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since February 27, 2018 and has one (1) prior violation: 

 

IN RE: 

 

Citation No.  18-1284.  Fine $500.00. 

1. Failed to adhere to the conditions of the agreement 

entered into with the Board placing additional 

restrictions on the license.  May 29 through July 25, 

2018. 
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PENALTY: 

 

 Liquor Code Section 471 [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license suspension or 

revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for violations of 

the type found in this case. 

 

 The penalty imposed shall be a fine of $1,500.00. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee CLIFF’S RESTAURANT GROUP, 

INC., pay a fine of $1,500.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this    18TH      day of February, 2020. 

 

 

         
         John H. Pietrzak, ALJ  

      

 

an 

 

 
MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 

15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 

FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE’S 

ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF 

THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE AT 717-783-9454.  
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order or a check drawn on the account of an 

attorney licensed in Pennsylvania.  Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable unless bank 

certified.  Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail it, 

along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg PA  17110-9661 

 

 

Credit/Debit Cards may be used: If you have registered with PLCB+ you may pay by Credit/Debit card 

at www.lcb.pa.gov by following the PLCB+ link.  If you have not registered with PLCB+ you may obtain 

the information on how to register by sending an email message to: RA-LBLICENSINGMOD@pa.gov. 

 

In re: Citation No. 19-1292 

Cliff’s Restaurant Group, Inc. 

http://www.lcb.pa.gov/
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