
Mailing Date: MAR 11 2020 

 

 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

FOR THE 

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE, 

BUREAU OF LIQUOR CONTROL  

ENFORCEMENT  

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

IN RE: CITATION NO. 19-1488C 

 

BLCE Incident No. PA 2019-957921 

 

v. : 

: 

: 

 

 

PLCB LID - 69095 

1313 RESTAURANT ENTERPRISES, 

LLC 

1313 N. 2ND ST. 

HARRISBURG, PA 17102-2601 

 

DAUPHIN COUNTY 

 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

: 

 

PLCB License No. R-AP-SS-9453 

 

ADJUDICATION 

 

BEFORE: John H. Pietrzak, ALJ 

FOR BLCE: Jessica H. Lathrop, Esquire 

LICENSEE COUNSEL:  Steve C. Nicholas, Esquire 

 

BACKGROUND: 

 

 This proceeding arises out of a citation that was issued on September 26, 2019, by the 

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement of the Pennsylvania State Police (BLCE) against 1313 

RESTAURANTS ENTERPRISES, LLC (Licensee). 

 

  The citation charges Licensee with violation of Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 

P.S. §4-493(1)] in that on August 31, 2019, Licensee, by its servants, agents or employees, sold, 

furnished and/or gave or permitted such sale, furnishing or giving of alcoholic beverages to one 

(1) minor, nineteen (19) years of age. 

 

 An evidentiary hearing was held on this matter on January 29, 2020, in the Office of 

Administrative Law Judge, Brandywine Plaza, 2221 Paxton Church Road, Harrisburg, 

Pennsylvania. 
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 Upon review of the transcript of this hearing, I make the following Findings of Fact and 

reach the following Conclusions of Law: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

 

 1. The investigation which gave rise to the citation began on July 18, 2019 and was 

completed on September 9, 2019; and notice of the violation was sent to Licensee by Certified 

Mail on September 11, 2019.  The notice of violation was received by Licensee. (N.T. 4 and 

Exhibit C-1). 

 

2. On August 31, 2019, during an Age Compliance Check conducted by the Bureau, 

a 19 year old underage buyer was served a Miller Lite draft beer for which he paid $3.25 (N.T. 7-

8; Exhibit C-5) 

 

CONCLUSION OF LAW: 

 

 1. The Bureau satisfied all investigatory and notice requirements of Section 471 of 

the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471], and the Age Compliance Regulations [37 Pa. Code §§23.21-

23.23].  

 

 2. The charge in the citation is sustained. 

 

PRIOR RECORD: 

 

 Licensee has been licensed since December 20, 2013 and has one (1) prior violation: 

 

IN RE: 

 

Citation No.  16-0722C.  Fine $750.00 and RAMP certification 

mandated. 

 1. Sales to a minor.  April 22, 2016. 

 

PENALTY: 

 

 Section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. §4-471] prescribes a penalty of license 

suspension or revocation or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00 or both for 

violations of the type found in this case. 

 

 Jesse Hamilton, member and Board-approved manager of the licensed corporation, 

testified in mitigation that he put into place additional measures since this violation to ensure that 

his staff identify and avoid serving underage patrons.   

 

 This office takes notice that the licensed premises became RAMP certified on April 11, 

2019. 
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 The penalty imposed shall be a fine of $2,000.00 and RAMP compliance. 

 

ORDER 

 

 THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that Licensee 1313 RESTAURANT ENTERPRISES, 

LLC, pay a fine of $2,000.00 within 20 days of the mailing date of this Order.  In the event the 

fine is not paid within 20 days from the mailing date of this Order, Licensee’s license shall be 

suspended or revoked. 

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Licensee shall comply with the requirements set forth 

in Liquor Code Section 471.1 pertaining to Responsible Alcohol Management in the following 

manner.  Licensee must remain in compliance for a period of one year from the mailing date of 

the Order. 

 

 Jurisdiction is retained. 

 

Dated this     27TH     day of February, 2020. 

 

 

 

        
               John H. Pietrzak, ALJ 

an 

 

 
MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION CANNOT BE ACTED UPON UNLESS THEY ARE IN 

WRITING AND RECEIVED BY THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE WITHIN 

15 DAYS AFTER THE MAILING DATE OF THIS ORDER, ACCOMPANIED BY A $25.00 

FILING FEE.  

 

IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THE DECISION OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE’S 

ORDER, THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE MAILING DATE OF 

THE ORDER.  PLEASE CONTACT CHIEF COUNSEL’S OFFICE AT 717-783-9454.  
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Detach Here and Return Stub with Payment – Note Citation Number on Check 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 The fine must be paid by cashier’s check, money order or a check drawn on the business or trust 

account of an attorney licensed in Pennsylvania.  Personal and business checks are NOT acceptable 

unless bank certified.  Please make your guaranteed check payable to the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania and mail it, along with any required documentation to: 

 

PLCB-Office of Administrative Law Judge 

Brandywine Plaza 

2221 Paxton Church Road 

Harrisburg PA  17110-9661 

 

Credit/Debit Cards may be used: If you have registered with PLCB+ you may pay by Credit/Debit card 

at www.lcb.pa.gov by following the PLCB+ link.  If you have not registered with PLCB+ you may obtain 

the information on how to register by sending an email message to: RA-LBLICENSINGMOD@pa.gov. 

 

In re: Citation No. 19-1488C 

1313 Restaurant Enterprises, LLC 
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