
 
 
 
 
January 28, 2014 Telephone:  (717) 783-9454 

FAX:  (717) 787-8820 

 

David Romine 

Kalik Lewin 

4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 400 

Bethesda, MD  20814 

RE:  Mail-in Rebate Offers 

 

Dear Mr. Romine: 

 

ISSUE:  This correspondence is in response to your e-mail of January 16, 2013, in which 
you request approval on behalf of various manufacturers to conduct three (3) proposed 

mail-in rebate promotions in Pennsylvania. 

 

The first promotion, from McCormick Distilling Co., offers consumers a rebate of three 

dollars ($3.00) on the purchase of one (1) bottle of Platte Valley Moonshine.  The second 

promotion, from Earth Friendly Distilling Co., offers consumers a rebate of five dollars 

($5.00) on the purchase of one (1) bottle of 360 Vodka.  The third promotion, from 
Tequila Rose Distilling Co., offers consumers a rebate of five dollars ($5.00) on the 

purchase of a 750ml or 1L bottle of Tequila Rose Strawberry or ten dollars ($10.00) on 

the purchase of a 1.75L bottle of same. 

 
To receive a rebate, consumers must mail to the designated address a completed rebate 
form including the UPC number of the qualifying product purchased.  The offers are 

valid for purchases made between January 1 and December 31, 2014, and are limited to 

adults of legal drinking age. 

 

OPINION: This office has reviewed the proposed offers and has determined that the 

promotions comports with applicable liquor laws and regulations, specifically subsection 

493(24)(i) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-493(24)(i)], and are acceptable for use in this 

Commonwealth.     

 

Therefore, it would be permissible for your clients to conduct the promotions in the 

Commonwealth in reference to the area checked below: 

 
       retail licensed premises. 
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       distributor licensed premises.  

       both retail and distributor licensed premises.   

 X      the Board’s wine and spirits stores, subject to approval of the 
Bureau of Product Selection.  

       other – Internet, text messaging. 

 

Please note that prior approval of malt or brewed beverages point-of-sale (“POS”) 

material and retail licensed premises POS material is no longer required.  However, the 

requirement for prior approval of POS material intended for use in the Board’s wine and 

spirits stores from the Bureau of Product Selection remains.  The total cost of all POS 

advertising material relating to any one (1) brand of any one (1) manufacturer at any one 

(1) time may not exceed three hundred dollars ($300.00) on a retail licensed premises.  

[47 P.S. § 4-493(20)(i)]. 

 
THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 

HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 
CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  THE 

PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED ONLY 

UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND POLICIES 

ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE BY THE 

LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD. 

 

Very truly yours, 

 

 
 
FAITH S. DIEHL 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

  

cc: Pennsylvania State Police,  

Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

James Short, Director of Marketing and Merchandising 

Michelle Bonsick, Director, Bureau of Marketing Communications,  
                        Branding & Design 

Pamela Bernd, Product Selection 
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