
March 12, 2014 Telephone:  (717) 783-9454 

FAX:  (717) 787-8820 

Donna Young 

Regulatory Affairs Specialist 

Vermont Hard Cider Company, LLC 

153 Pond Lane 
Middlebury, VT  05753 

 

 RE:  Woodchuck Hard Cider Mail-in Rebate 

 

Dear Ms. Young: 

 

ISSUE:  This correspondence is in response to your e-mail of February 25, 2014, wherein 

you request approval to conduct a mail-in rebate promotion in Pennsylvania. 

 
According to the summary you provided, the promotion offers consumers a mail-in 

rebate of five dollars ($5.00) on the purchase of two (2) six (6)-packs or one (1) twelve 

(12)-pack of Woodchuck® Hard Cider.  Alternatively, consumers may receive eight 
dollars ($8.00) on the purchase of four (4) six (6)-packs, two (2) twelve (12)-packs, or 

one (1) case of Woodchuck® Hard Cider.  To receive a rebate, consumers must mail to a 

designated address the completed mail-in rebate form, the original cash register receipt 

with the qualifying purchase or purchases circled, and the original UPC code from the 

product or products purchased.  The rebate is available only to residents of select states 
including Pennsylvania who are twenty-one (21) years of age or older, and there is a limit 

of one (1) rebate per address or household.  The offer is valid from June 1 through 

December 31, 2014. 

 

OPINION:  This office has reviewed the proposed mail-in rebate promotion and has 

determined that it comports with the applicable liquor laws and regulations, specifically 

subsection 493(24)(i) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-493(24)(i)], and is acceptable for 
use in this Commonwealth subject to certain limitations. 

 

In Pennsylvania, mail-in rebates on malt or brewed beverages are permissible only if 

those products are purchased on distributor or importing distributor premises, and those 

types of licensees must sell by the case.  A “case” is defined as a package prepared by the 

manufacturer for sale or distribution of twelve (12) or more original containers totaling 

two hundred sixty-four (264) or more fluid ounces of malt or brewed beverages, 

excepting those packages containing twenty-four (24) or more original containers each 

holding seven (7) fluid ounces or more.  [47 P.S. § 1-102].  

 

Therefore, it is only permissible to conduct the proposed mail-in rebate promotion in the 
Commonwealth in reference to the area checked below and only to the extent that it 

applies to case quantities as defined above. 
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         retail licensed premises.   

 X  distributor licensed premises. 

      both retail and distributor licensed premises. 

       the Board’s wine and spirit stores, subject to approval 

of the Bureau of Product Selection. 

      other – Internet, text messaging. 

 

THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 

HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 

CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  THE 

PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED ONLY 

UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND POLICIES 
ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE BY THE 

LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD. 
 

Very truly yours, 

 

 

 

FAITH S. DIEHL 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

 

cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

 

LCB Advisory Opinion No. 14-069 


