
 

 

 
December 24, 2014 
 
Cindy Dragwa 
One Meredith Street 
Carbondale, PA  18407-2835 
agwas81906@aol.com 
 

RE:  Discount Wristband During Happy Hour 
 
Dear Ms. Dragwa: 
 
ISSUE:  This is in response to your e-mail of November 20, 2014, wherein you ask 
whether or not customers could purchase a five dollar ($5.00) wristband which would 
enable them to purchase draft beer refills for a penny each during a two (2) hour 
Happy Hour. 
 
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“Board”) records indicate that Valley Bowling 
Lanes (Champions Lounge) holds Restaurant Liquor License No. R-2842 (LID 
10692), for the premises located at 1 Meredith Street, Carbondale, Pennsylvania. 
 
OPINION: Section 493(24)(i) of the Pennsylvania Liquor Code  generally prohibits 
licensees from offering anything of value to induce, directly or indirectly, the 
purchase of alcoholic beverages, or from offering or giving to trade or consumer 
buyers any prize, premium, gift or other inducement to purchase liquor or malt or 
brewed beverages, except advertising novelties of nominal value.  [47 P.S. § 4-
493(24)(i)].  “Novelty items bearing advertising matter, such as matches, disposable 
lighters, bottle or can openers, tee shirts, caps, corkscrews, pens and pamphlets, may 
be distributed with or without proof of purchase by any class of licensee to trade or 
consumer buyers”. [Board Advisory Notice No. 10 (6th Revision)].  Advertising 
novelty items are limited to a wholesale cost of fifteen dollars ($15.00) each or less. 
[Id.]  
  
The purchase of the wristband would allow the customer to buy malt and brewed 
beverages at a reduced price, thus it would be considered an unlawful inducement to 
purchase alcohol in violation of section 493(24)(i) .  [47 P. S. 4-493(24)(i)].   
 
That being said, the licensee could do this activity without using the wrist band by 
charging all patrons a five dollar ($5.00) cover charge.  Be advised that there is 
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nothing in the Liquor Code or the Board’s Regulations that sets forth what a licensee 
may establish as its regular price for an alcoholic beverage. Therefore, the licensee 
could have a specific draft beer that would be priced at a reduced rate, as your regular 
price, this would not be prohibited.  Otherwise, the one (1) penny beer would have to 
be part of a happy hour promotion. 
 
Pursuant to Act 11 of 2011, a retail licensee is now permitted to hold happy hours and 
discount any and all alcoholic beverages for up to four (4) hours per day and up to 
fourteen (14) hours per week.  [47 P.S. § 4-406(g)].  During this happy hour, the price 
of alcoholic beverages may not change.  The hours need not be consecutive and may 
be divided, subject to the above noted limitation, in any manner a licensee 
desires.  However, please note that no discount pricing practice (daily drink special or 
happy hour) may occur between 12:00 a.m. midnight and the legal closing hour.  [40 
Pa. Code § 13.102].  Lastly, please be advised that a notice of all happy hours must be 
posted on the licensed premises seven (7) days prior to each happy hour.  
 
Should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to again 
contact this office. 
 
THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 
HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 
CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS 
ISSUANCE.  THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN 
ADDRESSED ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE 
LAWS AND POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT 
TO CHANGE BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR 
CONTROL BOARD. 
 
Very truly yours, 
 
 
FAITH S. DIEHL 
CHIEF COUNSEL 
 
 Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement  
 Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 
 Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 
 Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
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