
 

 

 
 

April 10, 2015  

  

Dennis Benson 

Chief Marketing Officer 

Potomac Family Dining Group 
 

 

 Re: Happy Hour Clarification 

 

Dear Mr. Benson: 

 
ISSUE:  This is in response to your e-mail of March 19, 2015, wherein you advise 

that you would like clarification as to the law regarding happy hour.  You propose 

to have happy hour available Monday through Thursday from 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 

p.m.  You will be offering a variety of drinks at what are presumably discounted 

prices: domestic draft beer for $3.50, premium draft beer for $4.50, well drinks for 

$3.00, house wines for $4.00, Fireball Whiskey shots for $3.00, and specialty 
drinks for $4.00, as well as bar snacks for $3.00.   

 

You would like to display a banner outdoors with the following words printed on 

it: “Happy Hour 4pm-7pm Monday-Thursday featuring $3.00 Bar Snacks.”  There 

will also be a picture of a plate of chicken wings on the banner.  You advise that 

there will be an interior banner and table top communication listing the happy hour 
offers.  You note that you are paying for all advertising materials without any 

vendor support.  You ask this office to review your proposal and advise if the 

proposal complies with the law.   

 

Records of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“Board”) indicate Potomac 

Family Dining Group Operating Company LLC holds Restaurant Liquor License 
No. R-18270 (LID 64614) for the premises at 1050 Wayne Avenue, 

Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, and Restaurant Liquor License No. R-177 (LID 

64619) for the premises at 12825 Washington Township Boulevard, Waynesboro, 

Pennsylvania.  

 

OPINION:  In accordance with the Liquor Code and the Board’s Regulations, 
retail licensees are permitted to offer both a daily drink special and a happy hour in 
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each business day.  [47 P.S. § 4-406(g); 40 Pa. Code § 13.102].  No other discount 

pricing practices are permitted. 

  
With regard to happy hour pricing, a retail licensee is permitted to discount any 

and all alcoholic beverages for a period of time not to exceed four (4) consecutive 

or non-consecutive hours, and not to exceed fourteen (14) hours per week.  [47 

P.S. §§ 1-102, 4-406(g); 40 Pa. Code § 13.102(a)].  The hours may be fixed, 

subject to the above noted limitations, in any manner a licensee desires; however, 

during a happy hour, the price of alcoholic beverages may not change.  [40 Pa. 
Code § 13.102(a)(4)].  Notice of all happy hours must be posted on the licensed 

premises seven (7) days prior to each happy hour.  [47 P.S. § 4-406(g)].  

 

Although your question was limited to happy hour, please be aware that some of 

the drink items on the list that you provided – such as the Fireball Whiskey Shot or 

the specialty drinks – may be suitable for a daily drink special.  With regard to 
daily drink specials, a retail licensee is permitted to offer one (1) specific type of 

alcoholic beverage at a discounted price all day, or for a portion of the day, if it 

chooses.  [40 Pa. Code § 13.102(b)(2)].  A specific type of alcoholic beverage 

means either a specific registered brand of malt or brewed beverages, a type of 

wine, a type of distilled spirits or a mixed drink.  [Id.].  The following are 

examples of permissible daily beer specials:  a specific brand of beer such as “Blue 
Hound Pilsner” or “Brendan’s Cream Stout” or “Oil City Light,” but not “all draft” 

or “all bottled” beer or “all Blue Hound products.”  Daily wine specials could be 

“Chardonnay” or “Merlot,” but not “all white wine” or “all red wine” or “all 

Kendall’s wines.”  Permissible spirits specials would be “Rum and Cola” or “all 

brandy drinks,” but not “all well drinks” or “all Jackson’s products.”  [See Board 

Advisory Notice No. 16 (Amended)]. 
  

Further, please note that no discount pricing may occur between 12:00 a.m. 

(midnight) and the legal closing hour, i.e. 2:00 a.m., for most retail licensees.  [40 

Pa. Code § 13.102(a)].   

  

Based on the information you provided, it appears that your happy hour proposal is 
in conformance with the above requirements, whether you decide to also have a 

daily drink special or to keep the happy hour offerings as you have proposed.  

Therefore, it would be permissible to offer the proposed happy hour in your 

licensed establishments.   
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Please note that the Liquor Code contains restrictions on certain advertising 

practices.  Based upon the information you provided this office, the outdoor 

banner, indoor banner, and table top communications appear to be in compliance 
with the provisions of the Liquor Code, but please review the information 

regarding advertising that is provided herein. 

  

Section 498(a) of the Liquor Code permits establishments, manufacturers and 

shippers to advertise their products and prices in the Commonwealth.  [47 P.S. § 4-

498(a)].  No advertisement of products or prices, however, may contain the 
following: (1) any statement that is false, deceptive or misleading; (2) any 

statement that is disparaging of the products of a competitor; and (3) any statement 

referring to monetary comparisons between brands. [47 P.S. § 4-498(b)(1)-(3)].  

The entity responsible for the advertisement shall be clearly identified in the 

advertisement.  [47 P.S. § 4-498(e)(1)].  No advertisement may use any subject 

matter, language or slogan directed to minors to promote the consumption of 
alcoholic beverages by minors.  [47 P.S. § 4-498(e)(4)].  No advertisement that is 

obscene is allowed.  [47 P.S. § 4-498(e)(6)].  Advertisements shall not be 

inconsistent with the spirit of safety or safe driving programs.  [47 P.S. § 4-498(f)].   

  

As to banners, section 498(e)(3) of the Liquor Code prohibits print advertisements 

of alcoholic beverages of any type within three hundred (300) feet of any church, 
school, or playground.  [47 P.S. § 4-498(e)(3)].  Print advertisements prohibited 

within three hundred (300) feet of a church, school, or public playground include 

written advertisements on posted signs such as billboards or banners which 

advertise the availability or prices of alcoholic beverages.  Outside advertisements 

simply indicating the name of the licensed establishment or the availability or 

prices of products other than alcoholic beverages are permitted regardless of the 
proximity of the banner to a church, school or playground.  

  

Be advised that in the event that the banner is provided by a manufacturer or 

distributor, section 13.51 of the Board’s Regulations [40 Pa. Code § 13.51] 

prohibits licensees of one (1) class from offering anything of value to, or accepting 

anything of value from, a licensee of another class.  There is an exemption for 
advertising novelties of nominal value.  [40 Pa. Code § 13.52].  “Nominal value” 

currently is interpreted as fifteen dollars ($15.00) each, wholesale cost, or less.  

[Board Advisory Notice No. 10 (6th Revision)]. 

  

Should you have any other questions and/or issues related to the Liquor Code or 

the Board’s Regulations, please feel free to once again contact this office. 
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THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION 

DESCRIBED HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR 
OTHERS FROM CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO 

ITS ISSUANCE.  THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS 

BEEN ADDRESSED ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND 

REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS 

BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE 

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD. 
  

Very truly yours,  

  

  

  

FAITH S. DIEHL 
CHIEF COUNSEL 

  

cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 

Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 

Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
  

LCB Advisory Opinion No. 15-147 


