
 

 

February 12, 2016        

                 

Dan Brown 

Via Email:   

 

RE:   Compliance Question 
  

Dear Mr. Brown: 

 

ISSUE:  This office is in receipt of your email of January 4, 2016, wherein you 

state the following, “What happens when a [sic] agent comes in and has someone 

under age attempts [sic] to get a drink and the bartender does not card that person 

(sting)?” 

 

Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“PLCB”) records indicate that SACPA 

Holdings LLC holds Restaurant Liquor License No. R-20392 (LID 59186) for use 

by it at premises located at 2077 Interchange Road, Erie, Pennsylvania. 

  

OPINION:   It is assumed for purposes of this response that you are inquiring 

about the Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement’s 

(“BLCE”) Age Compliance Program.  Initially, please be advised that in citation 

cases initiated by BLCE, the PLCB acts as an appellate court for decisions from 

the Office of the Administrative Law Judge.  It would be inappropriate for the 

PLCB to comment on the specifics of a particular citation.   

 

That said, generally speaking, PLCB licensees are held strictly liable for violations 

of the Pennsylvania’s Liquor Code (“Liquor Code”) and the Board’s Regulations 

that occur on the licensed premises.  Pennsylvania Liquor Control Bd. v. TLK, 

Inc., 518 Pa. 500, 544 A.2d 931 (1988).  A licensee is subject to citation from 

BLCE for violations of the Liquor Code (such as for furnishing alcohol to minors), 

PLCB’s Regulations and also for certain violations of the Pennsylvania Crimes 

Code. 

 

Section 493(1) of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-493(1)] prohibits licensees, or their 

servants, agents, or employees, from furnishing alcohol to minors.  The penalty for 

this conduct is set forth in section 471 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-471], which 

provides in pertinent part:  
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If the licensee has been cited and found to have violated 

section 493(1) insofar as it relates to sales to minors or 

sales to a visibly intoxicated person, section 493(10) 

insofar as it relates to lewd, immoral or improper 

entertainment or section 493(14), (16) or (21), or has 

been found to be a public nuisance pursuant to section 

611, or if the owner or operator of the licensed premises 

or any authorized agent of the owner or operator has been 

convicted of any violation of the act of April 14, 1972 

(P.L. 233, No. 64), known as “The Controlled Substance, 

Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act,” or of 18 Pa. C.S. § 

5902 (relating to prostitution and related offenses) or 

6301 (relating to corruption of minors), at or relating to 

the licensed premises, the administrative law judge shall 

immediately suspend or revoke the license, or impose a 

fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor 

more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or both.  

 

[Id.].   

 

The statute further provides a modified penalty if a licensee has had a clean record 

for the past four years and is in compliance with the PLCB’s Responsible Alcohol 

Management Program as follows: 

 

However, if a license has been cited and found to have 

violated section 493(1) as it relates to sales to minors or 

sales to a visibly intoxicated person but, at the time of the 

sale, the licensee was in compliance with the 

requirements set forth in section 471.1 and the license 

had not sold to minors or visibly intoxicated persons in 

the previous four years, then the administrative law judge 

shall immediately suspend or revoke the license or 

impose a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more 

than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both. 

 

[Id.]. 

 

Additionally, section 494 of the Liquor Code [47 P.S. § 4-494] provides criminal 

penalties for certain violations of the Liquor Code. Section 494(a) of the Liquor 

Code provides:  
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Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of 

this article, except as otherwise specifically provided, 

shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction 

thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than 

one hundred dollars ($100), nor more than five hundred 

dollars ($500), and on failure to pay such fine, to 

imprisonment for not less than one month, nor more than 

three months, and for any subsequent offense, shall be 

sentenced to pay a fine not less than three hundred 

dollars ($300), nor more than five hundred dollars 

($500), and to undergo imprisonment for a period not 

less than three months, nor more than one year, or both. 

If the person, at or relating to the licensed premises, 

violates section 493(1), (10), (14), (16) or (21), or if the 

owner or operator of the licensed premises or any 

authorized agent of the owner or operator violates the act 

of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as "The 

Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act," 

or 18 Pa.C.S. § 5902 (relating to prostitution and related 

offenses) or 6301 (relating to corruption of minors), he 

shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or to undergo imprisonment for 

a period not less than three months, nor more than one 

year, or both.  

 

[47 P.S. § 4-494]. 

 

Finally, as BLCE’s Age Compliance Program is not administered by this agency, 

you are encouraged to either contact BLCE, or private counsel, seasoned in Liquor 

Law. 

 

THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION 

DESCRIBED HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR 

OTHERS FROM CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO 

ITS ISSUANCE.  THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS 

BEEN ADDRESSED ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND 

REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS 

BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE 

PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD 
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Very truly yours, 

  

 

RODRIGO J. DIAZ 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

 

cc:   Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement  

 Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 

    Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 

 Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
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