
 

 

 

September 16, 2016 

 

Todd Hennard 

Carnegie’s Inc. 

VIA E-MAIL      AMENDED 
 

 RE:  Wine Sales 

 

Dear Mr. Hennard: 

 

ISSUE:  This office is in receipt of your e-mail dated June 9, 2016, wherein you pose 

several questions pertaining to recently passed legislation (Act 39 of 2016 [“Act 

39”]) that permits you to sell wine at your establishment.  Your questions will be re-

stated and answered below. 

 

Records of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“PLCB”) indicate that 

Carnegie’s Inc. holds Restaurant Liquor License No. R-13275 (LID 32054) for the 

premises located at 27 Congress Street, Bradford, Pennsylvania.  PLCB records 

reflect that you are the Board-approved President. 

 

You also currently hold Restaurant Liquor License No. R-7757 (LID 71258) for the 

premises located at 19 Congress Street, Bradford, Pennsylvania. 

 

In addition, you are the holder of Transporter-for-Hire Class B License No. IB-4472 

(LID 71827). 

 

OPINION:  By way of general information, as you appear to be aware, on June 8, 

2016, Governor Wolf signed into law Act 39, making various changes to the Liquor 

Code.  The changes made by Act 39 will be effective on August 8, 2016.  One such 

change is the creation of a wine expanded permit (“WEP”) for restaurant and hotel 

liquor licensees.  This permit will allow its holders to sell wine-to-go until 11:00 

p.m. Monday through Saturday, and on Sundays if the holder has a Sunday Sales 

Permit.  A permittee may sell up to 3,000ml (3 liters) of wine in a single transaction.  

There is a $2,000.00 application fee for this permit and an annual renewal fee of 2% 

of the cost of wine purchased from the PLCB for off-premises consumption. 
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Sales of wine-to-go must occur at a specifically designated area of the licensed 

premises, but other items may be purchased at the same location.  Sales of wine-to-

go must occur at a designated register which is staffed at all times by a cashier who 

is at least eighteen years old and is RAMP-trained.  No sales of wine-to-go may 

occur elsewhere on the premises.  A WEP holder must use a transaction scan device 

to verify the age of anyone who appears to be under thirty-five years old and must 

comply with all components of RAMP.  Wine may be stored in a non-contiguous 

area that is not accessible to the public, is locked at all times, and is not accessible 

to employees under eighteen years old. 

 

Your questions appear below, in the order in which you presented them. 

 

1) Are we able to start selling wine immediately? 

 

No.  You must submit a WEP application and the $2,000 application fee to the 

PLCB’s Bureau of Licensing.  You may not sell wine-to-go unless and until the 

application is approved by the PLCB, which will not occur prior to August 8, 2016, 

when Act 39 goes into effect. 

 

2) Is there a limit for number of bottles and amount/size of the bottles? 

 

While there is no per se limit on the number of bottles that may be sold, a holder of 

a WEP may only sell up to 3,000ml (3 liters) of wine in a single transaction. 

 

3) Must the wine being sold be purchased from a state store? 

 

No.  As a restaurant liquor licensee, you are still permitted to purchase wine from 

licensed limited wineries or the PLCB’s stores.  A holder of a WEP may not sell a 

private label product (meaning a product made under contract by a manufacturer for 

the exclusive right of a retailer). 

 

Please be further advised that a WEP holder cannot sell wine-to-go for a price that 

is lower than the price at which it purchased the product from the PLCB.  WEP 

holders must pay sales tax on purchases of wine made from the PLCB at the time of 

purchase, just as they would for any other product purchased from the PLCB.  WEP 

holders are also required to collect the sales tax from the consumers to whom they 

sell wine-to-go, and can then seek reimbursement for the sales tax which they 

previously paid to the PLCB. 
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4) Are we able to deliver wine with a food purchase because we have a 

transporter-for-hire license? 

 

PLCB records reflect that you hold a Transporter-for-Hire Class B license, which 

allows you to engage in the commercial transportation of malt or brewed beverages 

only to or from points located in the Commonwealth.  Therefore, in order to transport 

wine, you would need to apply and be approved for a Transporter-for-Hire Class A 

license, which allows for the commercial transportation of liquor, malt or brewed 

beverages, or alcohol to or from points located in the Commonwealth. 

 

If approved for a WEP and a Transporter-for-Hire Class A license, you would then 

be permitted to transport wine or beer to a customer’s home provided that the sale 

of the items is completed on your licensed premises before the delivery occurs.  47 

P.S. §§ 1-102; 4-401(a); 4-492(2)-(4).  Further, the sale of wine-to-go must be 

executed in compliance with Act 39.  This means that the sale must occur at a 

register that is designated for said sales and is located on the licensed premises.  

The sale must be conducted by a sales clerk that is at least eighteen years of age, 

and has undergone seller/server training as required by section 471.1 of the 

Liquor Code.  The customer’s identification card, if the customer appears to be 

under thirty-five years of age, must be scanned by a transaction scan device for 

each sales transaction involving wine; this requires the purchaser to be present at 

the licensed premises when the sale of wine is consummated.  Finally, it would not 

be permissible for a customer to pay the delivery person for the alcohol, as that 

would clearly be a sale occurring off of the licensed premises, which is not permitted. 

 

5) How does a person apply to sell beer and wine at a convenience store or 

grocery store?  Are there any qualifying requirements for that? 

 

There is no license exclusively for convenience and grocery stores.  The convenience 

and grocery stores that sell alcohol have been approved by the PLCB’s three-

member Board for either a restaurant liquor (“R”) license, as you have, or an eating 

place retail dispenser (“E”) license.  The qualifying requirements are the same for 

all applicants for R and E licenses (i.e., food, seating, square footage), as are the 

operational requirements and limitations found in the Liquor Code and the PLCB’s 

Regulations. 

 

Grocery stores and convenience stores applying for an R or E license must also 

obtain approval from the three-member Board to have an interior connection to 

another business (namely, the grocery/convenience store).  Such interior connections 
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are subject to additional requirements and restrictions found within the Liquor Code 

and the PLCB’s Regulations.  40 Pa. Code §§ 3.53, 3.54; 47 P.S. § 4-468(e). 

 

Please do not hesitate to contact this office should you have additional questions. 

 

THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 

HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 

CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  

THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED 

ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND 

POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE 

BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL 

BOARD. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 
 

RODRIGO J. DIAZ 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

 

cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

 Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 

 Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 

Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
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