
 

 

 

August 9, 2016 

 

Victoria Housel 

The American Spirits Exchange Ltd. 

VIA E-MAIL 
 

RE:  Trade Show for Distillers 

 

Dear Ms. Housel: 

 

ISSUE:  This is in response to your e-mail of June 9, 2016, wherein you inquire as 

to the legalities of distilleries selling products at a trade show as well as the 

guidelines regarding hosting a trade show and where a trade show may be held.  You 

also inquire if there is a way to bring in inventory of out-of-state distilleries to be 

sold at a trade show under a vendor license. 

 

Records of the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (“PLCB”) indicate that 

Redemptions Spirits LLC holds Importer License No. I-828 (LID 64137) for use by 

it at 205 Mill Street, Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, and Limited Winery License No. LK-

341 (LID 66047) for use by it at 408 East 4th Street, Bridgeport, Pennsylvania. 

 

OPINION:  As per Act 39 of 2016 (“Act 39”), effective August 8, 2016, the PLCB 

will be permitted to issue permits to limited distilleries (“AL”) for the purpose of 

participating in alcoholic cider, liquor, and food expositions.  Alcoholic cider, liquor, 

and food expositions are defined as “affairs held indoors or outdoors with the 

primary intent of educating those in attendance of the availability, nature, and quality 

of Pennsylvania-produced alcoholic cider and liquors in conjunction with suitable 

food displays, demonstration, and sales under the following conditions: 

 

o The fee for the permit is $30.00 per day. 

o The permit can be used up to 100 days a year but no more than 30 

consecutive days. 

o The permittee can sell its liquor by the glass, bottle, or case. 

o The permittee may provide tasting samples up to one and one-half 

fluid ounces, which may be sold or offered free of charge. 

47 P.S. § 505.4(b)(8). 
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Accordingly, the limited distillers would be able to sell their products via permit at 

a trade show that qualifies as an exposition. 

In regard to the location of a trade show for distillers, the method of conducting the 

show will dictate whether the venue is on licensed or unlicensed premises.  If the 

distillers obtain permits to sell their products, the premises cannot be licensed.  The 

PLCB’s Bureau of Licensing (“Licensing”) will not typically dual-license a location 

absent specific statutory authority.  Thus, only one license may be in effect at one 

time at any particular area or location.  Therefore, the portion of a licensed venue 

covered by the exposition permit(s) would need to be de-licensed for the dates and 

times during which the exposition will be occurring.  This can be accomplished by 

the licensee submitting to Licensing a letter clearly specifying the area to be de-

licensed, including a map of the licensed premises that denotes said area, and the 

dates and times that the area should be delicensed. 

 

Please be advised that the sale of inventory for out-of-state distilleries cannot be 

effectuated via your importer license.  Section 410 of the Liquor Code states that 

importers may sell product outside of Pennsylvania or to Pennsylvania liquor stores 

within the Commonwealth.  47 P.S. § 4-410.  However, Act 39 allows the PLCB to 

accept Special Liquor Orders (“SLOs”) placed by licensed importers or licensed 

vendors on behalf of customers, in addition to accepting SLOs placed directly by 

customers.  Orders placed by licensed importers or licensed vendors on behalf of 

customers do not need to come to rest at one of the PLCB’s stores, but rather may 

be delivered directly to the customer by the licensed importer or vendors.  Delivery 

may only occur after payment has been forwarded to the PLCB and the PLCB has 

authorized delivery of the order.  Liability for SLOs placed by licensed importers or 

licensed vendors on behalf of customers remains with the importer or vendor until 

the time of delivery to the customer. 

 

Section 491(1) of the Liquor Code provides that it shall be unlawful for anyone to 

sell any liquor within Pennsylvania except in accordance with the Liquor Code.  47 

P.S. § 4-491(1).  If the privilege to sell liquor is not expressly provided within the 

Liquor Code, then it is not permitted. 

 

Should you have any other questions and/or issues related to the Liquor Code or the 

PLCB’s Regulations, please feel free to once again contact this office. 
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THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 

HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 

CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  

THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED 

ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND 

POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE 

BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL 

BOARD. 

 

Sincerely, 

 
RODRIGO J. DIAZ 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

 

cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 

Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 

Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
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