
 

 

September 22, 2016 

 

 

Scott Zoccolillo 

VIA E-MAIL 
 

RE:  Sales of Wine for Off Premises Consumption 
 

Dear Mr. Zoccolillo: 

 

ISSUE:  Your e-mail of July 22, 2016 seeks clarification regarding the wine 

expanded permits available with the passage of Act 39 of 2016.   

 

First, you note that Act 39 states that there is an application fee of $2000.00 plus a 

renewal fee of 2% of the cost of wine purchased from the Pennsylvania Liquor 

Control Board (“PLCB”) for off-premises consumption.  You state that you have a 

wine list that consists of more than 500 bottles.  You inquire whether you have to 

provide a separate “to go” offering list or whether you can offer any of the wines on 

your list for take-out sales.  If the latter, you inquire whether you can track take out 

sales in house and calculate your renewal fees based off of that. 

 

Second, you note that Act 39 states that sales of wine must occur at a specifically 

designated area of the licensed premises.  You inquire whether this applies to 

restaurants and, if so, whether you have to have a separate room, case and/or area 

where take out wines are stored. 

 

Third, you note that Act 39 states that sales of wine must occur at a designated 

register.  You inquire whether this applies to restaurants.  You state that you have 

eight point-of-sale terminals that your servers use to ring in your guests’ orders.  You 

inquire whether you have to designate one of them for take-out alcohol sales and, if 

so, whether the alcohol has to be sold separately or whether one of your guests could 

add a bottle to their dinner check to take home. 

 

Records of the PLCB indicate that Mywei, Inc. holds Restaurant Liquor License No. 

R-11890 (LID 49534) for use by it at premises located at 1091 Lancaster Avenue, 

Berwyn, Pennsylvania, 19312-1242. 
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OPINION:  Act 39 creates a wine expanded permit (“WEP”) for restaurant and hotel 

licensees.  47 P.S. § 4-415(a)(1).  This permit allows its holder to sell wine-to-go 

until 11:00 p.m. on Mondays through Saturdays, and on Sundays if the holder holds 

a Sunday sales permit.  47 P.S. § 4-415(a)(2).  

 

There is a $2,000.00 application fee for this permit and an annual renewal fee of 2% 

of the cost of wine purchased from the PLCB for off-premises consumption.  47 P.S. 

§ 4-415(b).  

 

In response to your first question, there is no requirement that the holder of a WEP 

provide a separate “to go” offering list or otherwise designate in advance which 

wines will be offered for take-out sales.  Rather, any wine lawfully possessed by the 

WEP holder may be sold for off-premises consumption.  WEP holders will track 

take out sales and submit their 2% annual renewal fees based on the cost of wine 

purchased from the PLCB and subsequently sold for off-premises consumption. 

 

In response to your second question, as indicated above, the WEP is ancillary to a 

restaurant or hotel liquor license, and the provisions of the permit therefore apply to 

licensed restaurants.  Sales of wine pursuant to a WEP must occur on the licensed 

premises, but other (non-alcohol) items may be purchased at the same location.  47 

P.S. § 4-415(a)(4).  The specifically designated areas for a WEP are the areas 

licensed under the underlying liquor license, although you may further limit the 

specific areas where sales will occur.  You are not required to have a separate room, 

case and/or area where take out wines are stored, but wine may be stored in a non-

contiguous area that is not accessible to the public, is locked at all times, and is not 

accessible to employees under eighteen years old. 47 P.S. § 4-415(a)(6). 

  

As to your third question, sales of wine pursuant to a WEP must occur at a designated 

register which is staffed at all times by a cashier who is at least eighteen years old 

and is RAMP-trained.  No sales may occur elsewhere (including self-checkout 

lanes). 47 P.S. § 4-415(a)(9).  As indicated above, other (non-alcohol) items may be 

purchased at the same location.  47 P.S. § 4-415(a)(4).  You may designate as many 

registers as you wish so long as they are on the licensed portion of the premises and 

so long as they conform with the above. 

 

THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 

HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 

CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  
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THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED 

ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND 

POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE 

BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL 

BOARD. 

 

Very truly yours, 

 

 
 

RODRIGO J. DIAZ 

CHIEF COUNSEL 

 

cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 

 Jerry W. Waters, Director of Office of Regulatory Affairs 

 Tisha Albert, Director, Bureau of Licensing 

 Jeffrey Lawrence, Assistant Director, Bureau of Licensing 
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