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September 16, 2020 
 
Amanda Paventi 
Marketing Project Coordinator 
Avid Marketing Group 
100 Corporate Place, Suite 200 
Rocky Hill, CT 06067 
on behalf of Angry Orchard Cider Company, LLC 
VIA E-MAIL 
 

RE: Halloween and Angry Orchard Digital Rebate 
 
Dear Ms. Paventi: 
 
ISSUE:  This correspondence is in response to your e-mail dated August 27, 2020, 
wherein you request approval to conduct a digital rebate promotion in Pennsylvania. 
 
According to the terms and conditions you provided, consumers can save $5.00 on 
the purchase of Halloween decorations and costumes, as further defined in the terms 
and conditions.  Residents from Pennsylvania are exempted from purchasing 
alcohol.  The rebate may be redeemed by capturing a picture of the receipt proving 
purchase requirements and consumers will be refunded via PayPal.  The rebate 
promotion was scheduled to begin on September 1, 2020, and ends on October 31, 
2020.  The rebate is open only to adults who are at least twenty-one years of age at 
the time of purchase.  There is a limit of two rebates per individual, e-mail address, 
and receipt. 
 
OPINION:  Section 493(24)(i) of the Liquor Code generally prohibits licensees from 
offering anything of value to induce the purchase of alcoholic beverages.  47 P.S. § 
4-493(24)(i).  Although section 493(24)(i) provides an exception for manufacturers 
and agents of manufacturers to offer monetary rebates on purchases of wine and 
spirits through the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board’s (“PLCB”) Fine Wine & 
Good Spirits stores or purchases of malt or brewed beverages through distributors 
and importing distributors, there is no exception allowing coupons offering 
discounts on non-alcoholic products.  Therefore, if a promotion requires a consumer 
to purchase alcohol in order to receive a discount on a non-alcoholic product, it 
would be an unlawful inducement under section 493(24)(i).  However, if no purchase 
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is required to obtain the rebate, then such a promotion is not subject to the Liquor 
Code’s inducement prohibition. 

In this case, the promotion makes clear to consumers that no alcohol purchase is 
necessary for Pennsylvania residents to obtain or access the rebate.  Therefore, the 
promotion would not be prohibited under the Liquor Code because section 
493(24)(i) would not apply. 
 
THIS OPINION APPLIES ONLY TO THE FACTUAL SITUATION DESCRIBED 
HEREIN AND DOES NOT INSULATE THE LICENSEE OR OTHERS FROM 
CONSEQUENCES OF CONDUCT OCCURRING PRIOR TO ITS ISSUANCE.  
THE PROPRIETY OF THE PROPOSED CONDUCT HAS BEEN ADDRESSED 
ONLY UNDER THE LIQUOR CODE AND REGULATIONS.  THE LAWS AND 
POLICIES ON WHICH THIS OPINION IS BASED ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE 
BY THE LEGISLATURE OR THE PENNSYLVANIA LIQUOR CONTROL 
BOARD. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
RODRIGO J. DIAZ 
CHIEF COUNSEL 
 
cc: Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement 
 
LCB Advisory Opinion No. 20-220 
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Angry Orchard & Halloween Essentials Digital Rebate 

Terms & Conditions – No Purchase Required States 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF REBATE OFFER: MUST BE A RESIDENT OF A 
VALID STATE AND AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AT TIME OF 
PURCHASE. 

Offer valid only in the states of AL, CO, HI, IN, KY, ME, MN, MO, NJ, NY, NC, PA, TX, VT 
& WV. To earn $5.00 through this rebate, you must purchase a minimum of $5.01 on Halloween 
décor and/ or adult costumes. For the avoidance of doubt, approved Halloween décor and adult 
costumes category items that will be approved are adult costumes only, Halloween garland and 
lights, Halloween themed outdoor inflatables and Halloween themed indoor décor or serveware. 
Maximum of TWO (2) rebates available per individual, email address and receipt. Offer not to 
be combined with any other offer or promotion. Void where taxed or prohibited by law. Valid at 
all participating licensed off-premise retailers in participating states. You are responsible for 
sales tax. Offer not available to groups or organizations, or to employees of Angry Orchard Cider 
Company, its affiliated companies and agencies, licensed alcohol beverage suppliers, 
wholesalers, and retailers, or members of their immediate families or households. Cash register 
receipt(s) must be dated between 9/1/20 – 10/31/20. All requests for a rebate must be received by 
10/31/20. 

©2020 ANGRY ORCHARD CIDER COMPANY, LLC, WALDEN, NY 

PLEASE DRINK RESPONSIBLY 



Angry Orchard & Halloween Essentials Digital Rebate 

Terms & Conditions 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF REBATE OFFER: MUST BE A RESIDENT OF A 
VALID STATE AND AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AT TIME OF 
PURCHASE. 

Offer valid only in the state of AK, AZ, AR, CA, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL, IA, KS, MD, 
MA, MI, MS, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM, ND, OH, OK, OR, RI, SC, SD, TN, VA, WA, WI & WY. 
To earn $5.00 through this rebate, you must purchase TWO (2) 6 packs or ONE (1) 12 pack or 
FOUR (4) 16oz cans of Angry Orchard Hard Cider AND a minimum of $5.01 on Halloween 
décor and/or adult costumes. For the avoidance of doubt, approved Halloween décor and adult 
costumes category items that will be approved are adult costumes only, Halloween garland and 
lights, Halloween themed outdoor inflatables and Halloween themed indoor décor or serveware.  
Maximum of TWO (2) rebates available per individual, email address and receipt. Offer not to 
be combined with any other offer or promotion. Void where taxed or prohibited by law. Valid at 
all participating licensed off-premise retailers in participating states. You are responsible for 
sales tax. Offer not available to groups or organizations, or to employees of Angry Orchard Cider 
Company, its affiliated companies and agencies, licensed alcohol beverage suppliers, 
wholesalers, and retailers, or members of their immediate families or households. Cash register 
receipt(s) must be dated between 9/1/20 – 10/31/20. All requests for a rebate must be received by 
10/31/20. 

©2020 ANGRY ORCHARD CIDER COMPANY, LLC, WALDEN, NY 

PLEASE DRINK RESPONSIBLY 
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